PDA

View Full Version : Red Wing Boots??

lunchbox
02-12-2012, 01:00 PM
Anybody a fan of these shoes/boots? Specifically, I'm looking to get a pair of the Beckman Boots from the Heritage collection, but they are $320.00 new. It's a beautiful boot, but that is a lot of coin for some shoes.

El Caballo
02-12-2012, 01:02 PM
Over priced and over rated. I hike for a living and they've never lived up to the hype for me. I wear Timberlands and Rocky's.

Jiffy_Jeff
02-12-2012, 01:05 PM
I wear the chucka boots. Dont remember the model number.

They are awesome! Comfortable and affordable around $130. So durable and hold up so well I only have to buy a new pair every two years.

I have a pair like this below, and a pair of black for a more formal wear.

http://static2.slamxhype.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/12/3092837033_45b9663ebe.jpg

cbmccarthy
02-12-2012, 01:19 PM
Tried on a pair from the Heritage collection around the holiday season. Didn't buy then, but I do often think about the quality. IMO, the particular boot you selected from the Heritage line is worth every penny. You most likely won't have to replace them, just have them resoled in 5 to 7 years depending on your use. They'll age and look better with time.

I don't understand why people balk at the price if it's a common trend for standard department store boots to be replaced after 2 years or so. If you pay $80 for a pair (a conservative number, IMO), then you will spend $400 over 10 years. I would wager a pair of Red Wing Heritage will last at least 10 years with one resoling at the same price. And then you will probably be able to use them for another 10 years with one more resoling.

So instead of spending $800 over 20 years on 10 pairs of boots, you'll spend around $500 over 20 years for one pair of boots that are classic and will never go out of style, IMO.

maccampbells
02-12-2012, 01:43 PM