PDA

View Full Version : Best budget modern metal amp?

TaDaMz
05-15-2013, 06:37 PM
I am kinda new to the world of tube amps. I play any and all styles but and am in search of that perfect modern metal tone.

Recently got a Marshall DSL JCM2000 w/ 1960b cab. I play through the OD1 red channel with gain about halfway up and EQ and presence to taste. I run through a TS type OD as a clean boost (BBE Green Screamer) with either an EMG 81/85 or Gibson 498t/490r. I also have an EQ in the loop. This rig seems to do ANYTHING I want; except metal.

So what I am wondering is... what is the best "budget" modern metal amp? Peavey seems like an affordable brand. Maybe the valveking? Whatever I buy or trade for will be used. Not looking to get rid of the Marshall; just want to be able to get a nice tight mid-scooped modern metal tone. Cheaper the better. Whatever amp I get will be used primarily for metal.

Or... is there any changes to my rig you could suggest? Anyone ever use a DSL for metal?

pat1929
05-15-2013, 07:06 PM
if you like your amp, the best and cheapest route would be to get a pedal /or rackmount preamp to run through your power amp in.
ie, engl 530, mako mak4,etc. or most any AMT legend series 2 pedals.

DonaldDemon
05-15-2013, 07:16 PM
5150 is great for metal and cheap

gixxerrock
05-15-2013, 07:16 PM
Used Peavey 5150 or XXX

germs
05-15-2013, 07:18 PM
If you end up going Peavey, stick to the 5150/6505 series. They're the metal standard.

sixesandsevens
05-15-2013, 07:18 PM
A big factor is speaker cabinet... I bet if you plug that Marshall into a Mesa cab or an Avatar loaded with V30s it's going to sound surprisingly more modern than the 1960b. So I'd consider at least lugging your gear to a shop and A/Bing it with more "modern" amps through some of the same cabinets just to see what you can get from what you have.

Do you have any songs you can point to that have the sound you're looking for?