PDA

View Full Version : '57 Strat just sold for 5100.00! on ebay


john archer
12-20-2006, 09:44 AM
Hey guys,

I have been watching a '57 Strat for sale on ebay for the past couple of days. The seller has no feedback and just opened an ebay account this month. Someone PLEASE tell me this was a scam or I am going to kick myself! The seller also offered paypal which is very unusuall for this type of auction. His ad looks like it was cut and pasted from a well known British vintage guitar dealer. Thanks for your insight.

John

scottlr
12-20-2006, 09:48 AM
zero feedback = zero bids from me on anything at all.

john archer
12-20-2006, 09:48 AM
Oh...sorry about not posting the link. I do not know how.

billstets
12-20-2006, 10:50 AM
zero feedback = zero bids from me on anything at all.

Amen. It's most likely a scam. I would only bid if the seller would agree to an escrow arrangement.

buddastrat
12-20-2006, 10:52 AM
Link? If I was buying something like that, I'd go to the guys house and make sure everything is cool. I doubt it was authentic.

mrfjones
12-20-2006, 11:15 AM
Link? If I was buying something like that, I'd go to the guys house and make sure everything is cool. I doubt it was authentic.


if i were buying something like that and the dollar amount was rather large, i would be going to see the guitar first and make sure it was first what it was supposed to be and second that it was in a playable condition.

stratzrus
12-20-2006, 11:41 AM
Hey guys,

I have been watching a '57 Strat for sale on ebay for the past couple of days. The seller has no feedback and just opened an ebay account this month. Someone PLEASE tell me this was a scam or I am going to kick myself! The seller also offered paypal which is very unusuall for this type of auction. His ad looks like it was cut and pasted from a well known British vintage guitar dealer. Thanks for your insight.

John

No way of knowing if it was a scam or not, but I would never bid on a zero feedback item.

stratzrus

CharlieS
12-20-2006, 02:58 PM
Complete scam. The auction text and photos were lifted from a listing by Music Ground, of all places. They were looking for 30k pounds.

john archer
12-21-2006, 01:10 AM
Thanks guys...now I feel alot better. The only strange thing is that the seller excepted paypal. Most scamers only except bank check or cash transfer.

John

Mullet Kingdom
12-21-2006, 01:54 AM
I just saw a '58 strat on Austin craig's list for $7500 -- no pics, just an email addy.

tonedaddy
12-21-2006, 03:19 AM
Complete scam. The auction text and photos were lifted from a listing by Music Ground, of all places. They were looking for 30k pounds.

Absolutely.
http://cgi.ebay.com/1957-FENDER-STRATOCASTER-ALL-ORIGINAL_W0QQitemZ140064610570QQihZ004


Here's a quote from the listing:

"Investment gain/potential - The investment gain/potential on this particular instrument is EXCEPTIONALLY strong based on originality/near museum quality condition."


And just something to consider, why would anyone that knows about a '57 Strat's investment potential, originality and museum quality condition let it go for $5k, when they could call a dozen dealers and get 8-10 times that amount within 48 hours?

daddyo
12-21-2006, 09:48 AM
I wonder if the buyer has realized they paid $5100 for pics on a webpage?

GTRWill
12-22-2006, 04:39 AM
Thanks guys...now I feel alot better. The only strange thing is that the seller excepted paypal. Most scamers only except bank check or cash transfer.

John


Don't feel so confortable with Paypal/Ebay transactions.. I was taken by a Paypal/ebay deal for about $2800.. It happens and their is nothing really Paypal/ebay will do for you except recoup their own money first. I don't deal with ebay/paypal no more since then. But, many people do it succesfully.. I am just to chicken to deal again with ebay/paypal again.. It sucked!

That guitar auction looked pretty shady.... real shady...