PDA

View Full Version : 2-Point Wilkinson tremolo system

ahou
01-22-2007, 02:01 AM
Hey all:

I am trying to get the Dimebag sound (i.e. screams and squeels) without going Floyd Rose....I don't really trust them. Will a 2-Point Wilkinson tremolo system do that for me or am I just being stupid? Does it allow me to take the note higher or is it like a strat tremolo (allowing the note just to go lower). I have never used them before....thanks for the advice y'all....

MyVette67
01-22-2007, 02:29 AM
Does it allow me to take the note higher or is it like a strat tremolo (allowing the note just to go lower).
Not sure I understand your statement.
are you speaking about pulling up on the trem?

stratrat2000
01-22-2007, 05:53 AM
Yes, the Wilkinson trems can be set up floating for a fair degree of pull up or down. Not as much as a Floyd design, but more than a standard Strat trem. They are the ideal middle-ground between the two IMO.

Alan

Mike9
01-22-2007, 06:37 AM
You might get half a step out of a Wilkinson, but for that Dime sound you really need a Floyd. A well set up Floyd is a thing of beauty - the reason a lot of people don't like them is they don't understand why they work.

There are several things I see all the time when someone brings me their floyd guitars that don't work.
1 - they take the locking nut blocks off then put them back in wrong - they have to go a certain way.
2 - they take all the strings off at once - bad idea.
3 - they change string guage - not a bad idea, but they sometimes require new springs.

There are more, but those are the root problems I see all the time.

codeorama
01-22-2007, 07:45 AM
While there are other trems that do a good job of staying in tune, none are as stable as the floyd. To do the crazy stufe Dime would do, you need a floyd.

wolf9309
01-22-2007, 09:39 AM