Anybody compared these side by side?
Which one is better? Opinions?

Lows?
Mids?
Highs?
Punch?
Definition?
Tone coloration?

I understand the V12 has smoother highs.

pedalcr8z
01-30-2007, 09:17 AM
V-12 smoother,creamier,more punch,great bottom end.

diezelboy
01-30-2007, 11:13 AM
Does it have the same low end as a V30?

pedalcr8z
01-30-2007, 11:23 AM
I thought the low end was better on the V-12........smoother & deeper similar to 12H30 which smokes the V series.

anibas
01-30-2007, 07:55 PM
If you want a speaker that smooths out nasty sounding high end more,and emphasizes low mids instead of the V30's high mid spike,than the V12 would be the better choice.Both of them are great speakers,but I've been using V12's quite a bit for the last 3 yrs or so.They're esp. good for straightening out an early or mid 80's 2205/4210 Marshall channel switcher,which tend to have a buzzy high end tone to their lead channel.Check out the two side by side if you get the chance.

Zuper
01-31-2007, 10:43 AM
I thought the low end was better on the V-12........smoother & deeper similar to 12H30 which smokes the V series.

I agree with this. I went from using V30s to the Legends, and they are so much smoother, with a much more defined low-end. The lower-mid hump of the Legends sounds much better with single-coils (don't notice as much of a difference with HBs). The Legend/G12H30 mix is excellent.

1973Marshall
01-31-2007, 11:30 AM
I haven't done it side by side, but the V12 does always immediately strike me as sweeter when I am alone for the fact it has a sweet roll off on the top end, and its decently tight - almost like a lightly compressed EQ'd studio tone.

Problem? I would rather post EQ a lot of tones. Live, the nastyness of V30s help cut thru a band. I like mixing speakers etc, but when we are alone we tend to like warmth and spread. Live, with a band you realize those freq that annoy us are the ones that cut thru the band - so I would still prefer the high mids of the V30.