PDA

View Full Version : Help me pick a guitar for a 7 year old.

lannyhall
02-19-2007, 09:32 AM
I have been asked to help pick a guitar for a child. He is 7 1/2. Do any of you have experience with that task, and if so, what instrument would you recommend?

wil
02-19-2007, 10:52 AM
I bought a 1/2 scale nylon string acoustic for my daughter when she was 5. The plus was that she didn't have to press on the strings that hard to fret a note. The negative is that the wider neck of a classical guitar was too much of a stretch for her little fingers to get to the bass strings easily. Another thing is that the width of the body made her prefer to play it like a lap steel sometimes.
Unless the guitar is a surprise gift, I would have the kid try a 1/2 scale steel string acoustic first, then a 1/2 scale classical if the steel strings hurt his/her fingers. I have heard from several people that the 1/2 scale electrics are pretty poor, no matter who makes them. However, I have no personal experience with 1/2 scale electrics. Hope this helps.

Wil

kat
02-19-2007, 11:27 AM
For a 7 year old I'd try a 3/4 size before trying a 1/2. It all depends on the size of the kid, obviously. Take the kid shopping and see what fits him, then make sure it's actually playable (decent action and intonation). By the time he's 9 or 10 he'll be able to move up to a full size electric, so you're not looking for something he'll play for a long time, you just want something that's comfortable enough that he'll actually like playing it. I've seen really keen kids give up because their guitar was unplayable.

FredW
02-19-2007, 11:47 AM