PDA

View Full Version : Broken Guitar body repair

wavey63
06-04-2007, 08:11 AM
I have a repair I am attempting on 2 guitars. One is an Epiphone dot that has no electronics and a body crack at the upper f-hole. The crack is about 2" long and is through the wood. The other is a Strat body that has multiple cracks that are alost through the whole body. What would be the best way to repair the crack and get the best sound from them once sompleted. These are project pieces that I amp practicing on so that I have some experience when I start my guitar repair biz in the future.

larry1096
06-04-2007, 08:52 PM
Choosing the right glue to use is about the hardest part of some repairs. It varies such that a blanket recommendation can't really be made.

I'd check out frets.com and search about the repairs and glues that Frank Ford uses on that site-that's a good start, I think.

Larry

nateclark
06-05-2007, 12:52 PM
Regarding the Epiphone: by through the wood, I suppose you mean that the crack goes completely through the top of the guitar? Or does it only go through the upper most lamination(s) of the plywood top?

Can you clamp the cracks on these guitar's closed? If so, wood glue is your best choice:

Hot hide glue is great for closed or hairline crack repairs because it is easy to clean up and creates a very strong bond. If you don't have the experience and equipment necessary to use hot hide glue (more on that subject here, if you're interested, under pictures #17 and 18:

http://fingerlakesguitarrepair.com/pages/repair-descriptions/neckfrets/neck-reset/martin-ukulele-neck-reset.php )

a good runner up would be "franklin's titebond liquid hide wood glue". A good third choice would be "franklin's titebond original wood glue". Both of those titebond products are available at my local hardware store and the big box stores.