View Full Version : "Faux Donnerbox" on Ebay?
Wesman61
01-21-2008, 02:13 AM
It must be flattering and irritating for Donner that someone is using His name to sell their boxes. Unless of course They have His blessing. Link. (http://cgi.ebay.com/EROTIC-FX-PEDALS-PHASE-ROYAL-CLONE-NO-RESERVE_W0QQitemZ190192418659QQihZ009QQcategoryZ41 420QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem)
auratnik
01-21-2008, 04:06 AM
The same guy that we talked about here. A lot of dissapointed buyers!
goldie-gold
01-21-2008, 04:47 AM
Am I the only one who does not find these pedals even the slightest bit 'Erotic'???
I also notced that the ad said 'Hand made in the USA for extreme tone!'. I'm not sure I want extreme tone thank you very much.
Wesman61
01-21-2008, 05:23 AM
There's gonna come a correction. I just know it.
Don't Post
01-21-2008, 05:23 AM
buyer beware!
Andy J.
01-21-2008, 05:28 AM
"Good Karma Studio"? ...guy needs to buy a dictionary! :rotflmao
dk123123dk
01-21-2008, 06:02 AM
whats the problem? its listed as a clone made from BYOC...
is it the paint job?
dk
Andy J.
01-21-2008, 06:06 AM
whats the problem?
...for Donner that someone is using His name to sell their boxes. Unless of course They have His blessing.
:cool:
Wesman61
01-21-2008, 06:08 AM
whats the problem? its listed as a clone made from BYOC...
is it the paint job?
dkHe's saying it has a faux Donnerbox finish. Unless He has Donner Rusk's permission to say that I'd think that's a problem.
Matt F
01-21-2008, 06:49 AM
It must be flattering and irritating for Donner that someone is using His name to sell their boxes. Unless of course They have His blessing. Link. (http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-1751-2978-71/1?AID=5463217&PID=2678043&loc=http%3A%2F%2Fcgi.ebay.com%2FEROTIC-FX-PEDALS-PHASE-ROYAL-CLONE-NO-RESERVE_W0QQitemZ190192418659QQihZ009QQcategoryZ41 420QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem)
That seems taboo. I thought there was bad blood there... Maybe it has been resolved.
:munch
TheGrooveking
01-21-2008, 06:53 AM
A few things, one it's looks like an interesting pedal, two from a visual standpoint looks decent, but what is really strange is the "bid and I will set up a BuyItNow for you". So if you bid low does he set the BuyItNow price the same? Something I am curious about.....very interesting....
TheGrooveking
TheGrooveking
01-21-2008, 06:55 AM
This is the guy's website, looks like he is building most of the BYOC product line and throwing his name on it.
http://www.eroticfxpedals.com/
TheGrooveking
jb1911
01-21-2008, 07:07 AM
I bought a Peppermint fuzz from a guy on ebay last year that was advertised as one of the original Donner box versions. It had the standard red and white Analogman graphics on it. I got a good deal on it but I had to let the guy know that it definitely was not a Donner box edition. Some people are just uninformed.
Wesman61
01-21-2008, 07:09 AM
This is the guy's website, looks like he is building most of the BYOC product line and throwing his name on it.
http://www.eroticfxpedals.com/
TheGrooveking(Spoken in Ben Stein voice) Gee, Those Girls look Aaaawwwwwesome.
Lintybits
01-21-2008, 07:27 AM
Isn't this the same guy who sold a bunch of stuff last year and never mailed it out? I think he was using RetroFX, but I def remember the good karma studio name.
IIRC someone sued him. Maybe he's all good now, but I wouldn't trust it.
DonneR
01-21-2008, 10:41 AM
Thanks for the tip ....!
Yes this is the infamous Mr. 'Bad Karma'
unbelievable.... what a skunk.:jo
Last Nerve
01-21-2008, 10:48 AM
RetroFX, EroticFX..what will he come up with next?
I warn EVERYONE I can to stay away from that guy.
Donner..are you gonna get the auctions pulled? I wonder how much trouble eBay would make you go through.
DonneR
01-21-2008, 10:54 AM
... well I asked him nicely to remove my name, see if he does it....
look at his feedback, looks like his still snakin people.....geez:horse
he had some parts selling thing goin too at one point.....
FloridaSam
01-21-2008, 11:00 AM
... well I asked him nicely to remove my name, see if he does it....
look at his feedback, looks like his still snakin people.....geez:horse
he had some parts selling thing goin too at one point.....
Off topic question: Donner, do you have "Donner Box" Trademarked? Just wondering. Might not be a bad idea if not.
FloridaSam
01-21-2008, 11:16 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Donner_Party
I had no idea Don had pedal parties in the 1800's ;) Talk about analog :dude
Ebay will take it down with history of the name! No costly trademark lawyers with no results and no loss time!
His parties were great but the food was awful :messedup
DonneR
01-21-2008, 11:21 AM
Off topic question: Donner, do you have "Donner Box" Trademarked? Just wondering. Might not be a bad idea if not.
Well DonnerBox is a real business - liscense,taxes etc....
tho this does give us an excuse to remind people that Erotic Fx = Good Karma Fx which I think would be a net loss for him ;)
orogeny
01-21-2008, 11:26 AM
I'll never understand how people order from someone with feedback like that. THREE people never received their pedals. What do people think, "well. . . 95% of the people get what they paid for"? I don't get it at all.
DonneR
01-21-2008, 11:52 AM
His parties were great but the food was awful :messedup
Right I started out back then painting wagons and take out barbques ~ 'get a DonnerBox for the road and have your friends over for dinner (literally);)'
DonneR
01-21-2008, 11:55 AM
I'll never understand how people order from someone with feedback like that. THREE people never received their pedals. What do people think, "well. . . 95% of the people get what they paid for"? I don't get it at all.
AH! Heres another one -
http://cgi.ebay.com/NOC-3-EFFECTS-PURE-DRIVE-DONNERBOX-LIMITED-EDITION_W0QQitemZ260204171946QQihZ016QQcategoryZ41 416QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem (http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-1751-2978-71/1?AID=5463217&PID=2678043&loc=http%3A%2F%2Fcgi.ebay.com%2FNOC-3-EFFECTS-PURE-DRIVE-DONNERBOX-LIMITED-EDITION_W0QQitemZ260204171946QQihZ016QQcategoryZ41 416QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem)
this ones legit as I did paint it for Nick as a fundraiser....
whats funny is I think its the same guy - if I remember right he bought this when it originally auctioned - wonder if hes going to try and make copies .....hmmmmmm
-DC/AC-
01-21-2008, 12:44 PM
I saw a PhasaVibe somewhere in the massive "Post Pics of Your Pedalboard" thread. It looked the same, but I don't think it had the Good Karma Studio thing at the bottom.
59Vampire
01-21-2008, 01:31 PM
obviously it has been changed as there is no mention of donnerbox or good karma
DonneR
01-21-2008, 01:41 PM
obviously it has been changed as there is no mention of donnerbox or good karma
Yey!!!!!
(except the pedals say Good Karma - hard to unscreen a box :crazy)
lionscut
08-15-2008, 10:17 PM
Beware!! this thief, good karma studios/retro fx/erotic fx aka john r jones is still at large.
DonneR
08-15-2008, 10:25 PM
Beware!! this thief, good karma studios/retro fx/erotic fx aka john r jones is still at large.
have you had recent dealings with him ???
Whats funny is I keep getting myspace friend invites from them !!?!?!??!:rolleyes:
lionscut
08-16-2008, 09:35 AM
have you had recent dealings with him ???
Whats funny is I keep getting myspace friend invites from them !!?!?!??!:rolleyes:
yes, i was not aware of his tainted past and ordered a paris echo. he ran my card in may and disappeared, never received anything and never heard back!
DonneR
08-16-2008, 12:45 PM
yes, i was not aware of his tainted past and ordered a paris echo. he ran my card in may and disappeared, never received anything and never heard back!
sounds familiar unfortunately - shame theres no Better Business Bureau for booteekers
lionscut
08-16-2008, 01:51 PM
sounds familiar unfortunately - shame theres no Better Business Bureau for booteekers
i did file a complaint with the bbb in missouri..these dirtbags need to be shut down!
NewarkWilder
08-16-2008, 02:59 PM
good karma fx... man, you gotta be really evil to throw that out there as the name for your scam operation.
"its so ironic people will believe it! brilliant!"
vBulletin® v3.8.5, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.