PDA

View Full Version : So... for a Dumble clone kit...

Bob Simpson
05-10-2008, 12:11 AM
should I go Ceriatone or D'lite?

I've got the tools, knowledge and skills to assemble/mod either kit...
It appears the money is similar...
Parts quality?
Buy USA?

Any ideas?

Bob Simpson

big mike
05-10-2008, 12:14 AM
D-Lite. great sounding amp.

kodecar
05-10-2008, 02:23 AM
I have no experience with the Ceriatone but I really like my D'lite a lot.

Rod
05-10-2008, 02:34 AM
The Ceriatone seems to have mods needed,,,see Jack Zucker's posts

crosse79
05-10-2008, 05:08 AM
You can go either way - both Ceriatone & D'lites are great amps. I have not tried D'lites before though - but base my thoughts on what other forumers say about it.

fullerplast
05-10-2008, 09:21 AM
Either amp can sound very good and either can be tweaked to suit personal preferences. Note that the original D'lite did not include the jazz/rock switch or footswitchable OD and PAB while the Overtone has both, and also has the second FET input like the real Dumble.

Owning both however, and being able to play them both side by side with various speakers and guitars, I have to say I prefer the Overtone by a wide margin. It simply sounds bigger, better, and smoother to my ears. This is comparing the latest tweaked D'Lite to the stock Overtone. YMMV of course.

Another TGP member who owned both has this to say:

I have the D'lite running 6L6's so close enough to the 44 AND I have the first production Overtone. I love the D'lite. As many have said it is a fabulous amp. I have had the Overtone for about a week and have been very busy comparing both amps.

Once I completed the D'lite kit I knew what the amp was all about within two hours of first turning it on.