PDA

View Full Version : GFS dream 90 vs 180...

idk
02-25-2009, 08:00 PM
for my epiphone dot. i think i wanna change out the neck pickup but leave the humbucker in the bridge for the warmth and darkness. anyways, it was suggested that i throw a p90 into the neck, and heard good things about the GFS dream 90. but going onto the site, i saw these GFS dream 180s, and if i'm reading correctly(i'm new to electric guitars in general) they're like p90s and filtertrons put together? filtertrons are found in gretsches? what would sound better in my dot? I've never heard a semi-hollow with filtertrons before, only in a Duo Jet. a p90 is such a classic sound though. do they even fit in there? i'm a church musician so i guess i play more rock type of music. help!

fretless
02-25-2009, 08:57 PM
I've never played a guitar with either pickup, but I've read a TON of posts regarding them. Apparently the Dream 90 is more of a big strat sized pickup bobbin under a humbucker shell. Supposedly it gets a P-90 flavor, but it has a unique "airy" quality. I will say I've heard very few negative reviews of it. The Dream 180 supposedly will give you a "Gretschy" flavor, but opinions are mixed. I've yet to see a bad review per se, but I've read some players thought it sounded more like a bright humbucker, albeit a good one.

One other option from GFS - the Mean 90. Supposed to be MUCH more like a P-90, as it is wrapped on a P-90 bobbin (much like a Duncan Phat Cat for example). Output wise, at least, it may match up better if you plan on keeping your bridge humbucker. There are quite a few Mean 90 fans around here from what I've gathered. Personally, the thought of 2 Mean 90's in a Dot sounds pretty darn cool!!

idk
02-25-2009, 11:16 PM