PDA

View Full Version : Craigslist Scam ?


dankayaker
08-28-2009, 01:00 PM
I sent a seller a few emails expressing interest (saying I'd buy it) in a guitar they were selling . . . . . couple days go by I get an email from a yahoo account with the guy saying he marked the price down even more and that he
does not get online very much . . but first come first served. That's it. No acknowledgment of my emails saying "I'd take it " . . .and "when can we do the deal" . . . . .what can this guys angle be ? Maybe he's just dumb ?

Luke
08-28-2009, 01:02 PM
Speaking of CL:

http://newjersey.craigslist.org/w4m/1347065183.html

shark_bite
08-28-2009, 01:30 PM
Speaking of CL:

http://newjersey.craigslist.org/w4m/1347065183.html

OH DEAR GOD that made me want to laugh/cry at the same time. Nice find. Hang out in the personals section of the NJ CL often? :D

Smakutus
08-28-2009, 01:42 PM
Don't call her Ahmed/Ahmad!

Jeff

mge80
08-28-2009, 01:45 PM
Don't call her Ahmed/Ahmad!

Jeff

How about you call her and pretend to be Ahmed/Ahmad?

Please report back.:munch

darkstar11
08-28-2009, 01:47 PM
I sent a seller a few emails expressing interest (saying I'd buy it) in a guitar they were selling . . . . . couple days go by I get an email from a yahoo account with the guy saying he marked the price down even more and that he
does not get online very much . . but first come first served. That's it. No acknowledgment of my emails saying "I'd take it " . . .and "when can we do the deal" . . . . .what can this guys angle be ? Maybe he's just dumb ?

Ask for his phone # and get a better feel over the phone..

As for a scam.... not sure.

lakehaus
08-28-2009, 01:50 PM
I sent a seller a few emails expressing interest (saying I'd buy it) in a guitar they were selling . . . . . couple days go by I get an email from a yahoo account with the guy saying he marked the price down even more and that he
does not get online very much . . but first come first served. That's it. No acknowledgment of my emails saying "I'd take it " . . .and "when can we do the deal" . . . . .what can this guys angle be ? Maybe he's just dumb ?

Craigslist if so frickin' iffy. You never know what you're going to get on the other end of the email. I have scored several great deals on CL with very cordial people. But I've also sent emails on items, never to get a reply. Makes me wonder whether my email actually made it to them.

One case in point, and anyone who lives in my neck of the woods may remember this - it was a '59 Gibson ES-175 with "two silver pickups" yadda yadda $2500... Man, I sent one, two, three emails to that ad. Not once did I get a reply - and it's not like I was being a d*ckwad, simple statement of interest and request to look at it... the ad ran for a full 30 days, then was reposted. Stupid me. I replied. No response.

As far as your deal goes, I'd forget about it.

itkindaworks
08-28-2009, 01:56 PM
Speaking of CL:

http://newjersey.craigslist.org/w4m/1347065183.html
That's hillarious.

Wuchak
08-28-2009, 02:02 PM
I think sometimes emails about CL ads go unanswered because they get picked up by spam filters, dropped in the junk mailbox, and the people running the ad never see them. I say that because I've had mine do it. If they haven't included a phone number in the ad then you're out of luck contacting them.

Unfortunately the good deals go fast. Last week I responded to a post at 9pm with phone calls (left vm) and emails. The ad had been posted at 8pm. It was removed by 10pm. I never received a response. The ad was for a Fender Squire (older model that I think was MIJ based on the logo style) telecaster in black with maple fretboard. Also included was a solid state Carvin 2x12 combo. Both looked to be in excellent condition. Price was $100 for the amp and guitar. No wonder it went fast.

dankayaker
08-28-2009, 02:41 PM
Ask for his phone # and get a better feel over the phone..

As for a scam.... not sure.



Tried that . . . nothing yet. I'm not worried about getting scammed, it would be an in person deal. I'm wondering if he's stringing me along until he takes someone (non local) so I don't blow the whistle on him.

GCDEF
08-28-2009, 02:59 PM
Speaking of CL:

http://newjersey.craigslist.org/w4m/1347065183.html

The phone number of the person placing that ad is associated with this guy. following a couple of google searches leads here.

http://vampirefreaks.com/picview.php?user=devilboy19766609&uid=3847539&c=0&x=1&d=32646281&g=0&s=3

http://www.myspace.com/devilboy19766609

OliverGuitars
08-28-2009, 11:27 PM
Wow, that means he is gay I guess. A gay satanic vampire wanna bee! Only on CL!

So what did the gay vampire say to the straight vampire as he walks into the gay vampire bar?

Can I help you push your stool in?



I know I am horrible. Not that theres anything wrong with gay vampires.

Wuchak
08-29-2009, 12:48 AM
Wow, that means he is gay I guess. A gay satanic vampire wanna bee! Only on CL!

So what did the gay vampire say to the straight vampire as he walks into the gay vampire bar?

Can I help you push your stool in?



I know I am horrible. Not that theres anything wrong with gay vampires.

Here's one I just made up.

Why do gay vampires have to run more errands than straight vampires? Because they need to stop and make withdrawals at the blood AND the sperm bank.

Oh that's bad.