PDA

View Full Version : JBL D120 tone with lower efficiency speaker??

Gearoholic
02-01-2010, 04:43 PM
Hi, everyone. It's been a while since I last posted but I got some great advice last time and hope for the same. I currently have Weber clones of the JBL D120 speaker and they sound good but they are LOUD :bounce I am looking to get a JBL D120 tone from a lower efficiency speaker.

Is there a speaker that would get me that tone at a lower efficiency rating? Jensens come to mind but I have no experience with them. I play a les paul and am looking for that dry, canny, honky, vintage kind of tone. FYI, I have a baseman type amp (50 watts) with EL34's

Gearoholic
02-01-2010, 06:05 PM
Bump

tonedoggie
02-02-2010, 11:46 AM
These don't sound neccessarily like d120's, but well broken in Jensen c12N reissues and tonetubby alnicos are a bit less efficient. I use all three (JBL, Tonetubby, and Jensen) in various Fender Deluxe Reverb and Allen Encore rigs, and they each have their charms.

But, I use single coil pickups...

strumminsix
02-02-2010, 12:58 PM
Hi, everyone. It's been a while since I last posted but I got some great advice last time and hope for the same. I currently have Weber clones of the JBL D120 speaker and they sound good but they are LOUD :bounce I am looking to get a JBL D120 tone from a lower efficiency speaker.

Is there a speaker that would get me that tone at a lower efficiency rating? Jensens come to mind but I have no experience with them. I play a les paul and am looking for that dry, canny, honky, vintage kind of tone. FYI, I have a baseman type amp (50 watts) with EL34's

The Weber NeoMags?

Have you considered Greenbacks?

Gearoholic
02-02-2010, 03:09 PM
I have greenbacks and they are very middy and narrow for me. I am looking for a dry, honky, canny type speaker. The D120 gets me there, as does the Weber CV123 (Cerwin Vega Er123 clone) but both are just crazy loud.