PDA

View Full Version : Recording Live Drumkit on separate tracks in Logic 9 ?


Baminated
09-01-2010, 01:25 PM
Has anyone tried this ?
I've been asking this question on tons of other forums to no avail.

The objective is to record a drummer in which parts of the drumkit are micd into the interface, then interface into logic, but configured in a way that these are mutliple, separate tracks recording, rather than the whole kit being recorded on one track

GregoryL
09-01-2010, 03:09 PM
Yes, many times. Typically 2 overheads, one kick mic, and one snare mic.

What are you having trouble with? As long as your interface supports enough channels for the number of mics you want to use, it's pretty easy.

loudboy
09-01-2010, 03:35 PM
You need an interface w/multiple channels of I/O -they usually come in multiples of 8.

Then, in your DAW, make however many tracks you need, and assign the input of each channel to an input on your interface.

Example:

Track 1 would be "Kick" and the input would be assigned to "XXX Input 1/2 Left"

Track 2 would be "Snare" and the input would be assigned to "XXX Input 1/2 Right"

And so on.