PDA

View Full Version : Laptop vs. Desktop for personal home recording

Gasp100
09-04-2010, 06:35 PM
My "everyday" home computer just died. I have a dedicated workstation in the basement (not really dedicated, I do web surfing and such as well, but all my audio gear is hooked up to it) and I'm considering going big with my next computer purchase and bring the dedicated machine upstairs. The machine downstairs is actually fine for a home recording enthusiast, Here's the specs:
Intel PIV 2.8Ghz (2 physical procs - used to be a server)
2 EIDE hard drives, probably only 5400 rpm (each one is 40GB)
3GB Ram (can't remember what type, fairly new)
Line 6 UX8 USB 8 mic pre interface <this is new, I'd like to stick with it for now>
Currently W7 Pro, Reaper 32bit, a bunch of plugins, etc...
So, old but still powerful. I am a Windows System Engineer so I really do like to have a lab of sorts available (Windows domain, Exchange, SharePoint, SQL, Vmware or HyperV) but that all went out the window when my everyday upstairs machine died :(
To be honest, if I'm home I like to have a machine just to check the weather really quick, TGP of course, etc... and I'm really missing that right now lol!
So, the machine downstairs is a perfect candidate for a rebuild with W2K8R2 and vmware server. It's probably time I actually BOUGHT a computer (been about 12 years :)
Anyway, a new machine is going to cost me a guitar; a lesser desktop like a Dell or something will cost me my Tokai Strat. A Mac or higher powered laptop/desktop might cost me my Fender Hot Rod Tele...
So for guys recording with laptops, do you feel like you are giving up extra processing power just to be mobile? Do you end up using this laptop for everyday stuff? Do you use USB? Is the reason you have a laptop ONLY because you take it on the road for recording purposes?