PDA

View Full Version : First PRS Guitar - 59/08-09 Pickups

Treillw
11-23-2010, 10:35 AM
I'm going to buy my first PRS and I've been doing a lot of research and testing out a lot of guitars at the local shop. I played a Custom 22, a Custom 22 special edition (with a single coil in the middle), Custom 24, and a 25th Anniversary Custom 24 (I've also been looking around for a 513 to play).

Pretty much all of the guitars sounded good to me (I am by no means an expert on the tone topic), but the one that stood out was the 25th Anniversary Custom 24 - It has the 59/08 pickups in it. I thought that the treble pickup was really hot - I actually turned the treble on the amp down because it was almost too much. I usually have the treble cranked, so that may be why. I thought that the bass pickup could use a little more "heaviness", but again it may be the way I had the amp set up. While browsing around on the internet I read about the 59/09 pickups and their sales pitch seems to reflect my thoughts about the 59/08s - they said that the bass pickup has been made "darker and more powerful".

Has anybody on here compared the two pickups? It sounds like a lot of people on here really like the 59/08's: http://www.thegearpage.net/board/showthread.php?t=579168

So far I'm liking the 25th Anniversary Custom 24, but I still want to check out the 513 and 59/09's.

I noticed that the 513 is being discontinued, anybody know the reason for that?

I also noticed that the 25th Anniversary 513 is cheaper than the normal model. That seems odd to me, I would think that the 25th models would be more expensive???

Any advice will be appreciated. Thank you.

FractalGarden
11-23-2010, 12:28 PM
Not sure what 59/08-09 pickups are. There are 57/08's, 59/09's and 53/10's now available.

Treillw
11-23-2010, 12:38 PM
I meant 59/08 or 59/09, but I thought the title would be too long with both in it.