PDA

View Full Version : Modding an EHX Freeze

dangayle
12-10-2010, 01:33 PM
The Freeze is the coolest pedal to come around in a long time, but I hate the footswitch. I switch it a lot, and it's a hard click footswitch (Not audible in the audio signal, it's just a loud physical click that gets annoying). Also, depending on how you use it, you're liable to hit the switch for every chord change, meaning that the switch on this pedal had better be robust over the long term.

How difficult would it be to replace the switch with a soft-touch footswitch? And has anyone thought of modding this pedal in other ways?

jahsoul
12-10-2010, 01:36 PM
I imagine just opening, snipping, soldering, closing and that should be it. Make sure you put everything back where you found it on the switch.

dangayle
12-10-2010, 02:21 PM
Because I'm still new to modding pedals, a soft-touch is functionally the same as a standard switch, right?

jahsoul
12-10-2010, 02:44 PM
Yeah, just doesn't latch. Momentary is what you'd look for on pedal parts plus and such.

muffinMan74
12-10-2010, 02:47 PM
Cusack TBS2 (http://cusackmusic.com/wp/?page_id=22)

or

Jack Deville Click-Less Bypass Switch (http://jackdeville.com/clickless_switch.php)

either looks to make the job a little simpler

dramaticrunner
12-10-2010, 03:20 PM
that's not what he needs, those are truebypass systems. he just wants to change a loud clicky momentary switch for a soft touch momentary switch

http://www.smallbearelec.com/Detail.bok?no=672

use that, should be easy enough

Cusack TBS2 (http://cusackmusic.com/wp/?page_id=22)

or

Jack Deville Click-Less Bypass Switch (http://jackdeville.com/clickless_switch.php)

either looks to make the job a little simpler

dangayle
12-10-2010, 03:40 PM
Is the Freeze true-bypass? Also, I don't really think there is that much room in the pedal for another pcb. I could be wrong though.

kp8
12-10-2010, 08:25 PM