PDA

View Full Version : 5y4g in place of 5y3g


seminoles19
12-18-2010, 02:00 PM
well the title say it all really im finishing up a 5f1 build. and have access to a tube radio that has a 5y4g tube in it and iv been having a hard time finding the tube locally and i cant find any thing on the web.
so the question will it work? with out any ill affect?

SamBooka
12-18-2010, 02:13 PM
well the pin-out is completely different for starters ... RCA reciveing manual has most other specs as similar but I would wait for someone more knowledgable to chime in.

1guitarslinger
12-18-2010, 02:14 PM
You could use the 5Y4G but would need to rewire the rectifier socket to use it as the 5Y4G and 5Y3G have different pin-outs.

You can't find a 5Y3 online?

Google "5Y3" and you get something like this - http://www.google.com/search?q=5Y3 which has several tube vendors on the first page.

seminoles19
12-18-2010, 02:20 PM
You could use the 5Y4G but would need to rewire the rectifier socket to use it as the 5Y4G and 5Y3G have different pin-outs.

You can't find a 5Y3 online?

Google "5Y3" and you get something like this - http://www.google.com/search?q=5Y3 which has several tube vendors on the first page.

no sorry i wasnt clear i cant find a 5y3 tube locally i can find them online but id like to finish the amp over the week end. and i couldn't find out information i they were interchangeable online.
how would it have to be wired diffrently?

Blue Strat
12-18-2010, 02:21 PM
We've got 'em/.

RackCrew
12-18-2010, 02:47 PM
Have them in stock. 5Y3s are easy to get. Mesa, Sovtek and Ruby offer them.

zzmoore
12-18-2010, 02:48 PM
Do you live near me..?

TweeDLX
12-18-2010, 02:50 PM
i couldn't find out information i they were interchangeable online.
how would it have to be wired diffrently?
Don't mess with stuff you know very little about. You should check the tube specs for the info you want. Lots of online sites for that. I know it's tough to wait to finish your amp, but use the "right" tube. NOS 5Y3's are relatively cheap, and Blue Strat is great to do business with. Check him out.

RackCrew
12-18-2010, 02:53 PM
Do you live near me..?


Sorry no. I'm in Atlanta. I posted at the same time you said you wanted to finish this weekend so I didn't see that.

seminoles19
12-18-2010, 03:12 PM
alright you guys convinced lol if i cant find one locally il wait till i can order one.
and thanks for asking if i live near you zzmore but unfortunately im in north carolina thanks for the offer though :beer
and if i have to order it il definitely check out blue strat and rackcrew.
thanks everybody

jcs
12-18-2010, 04:07 PM
You can swap 5R4 and 5V4 for a 5Y3 usually.

WaltC
12-18-2010, 09:21 PM
http://tdsl.duncanamps.com/show.php?des=5Y4G

http://tdsl.duncanamps.com/tubesearch2.php?TSD=5y4g&btnSubmit=Query

guitarcapo
12-21-2010, 07:14 AM
There are also solid state plug ins you can use instead of a rectifier tube.

Maybe a little against vintage mojo....but I doubt you're really getting much of an audible "sag" from a small amp like a Champ anyway. It might run the voltages a bit different and you'd hear THAT, though. Also of course less of a maintenance issue.

Blue Strat
12-21-2010, 07:33 AM
There are also solid state plug ins you can use instead of a rectifier tube.

Maybe a little against vintage mojo....but I doubt you're really getting much of an audible "sag" from a small amp like a Champ anyway. It might run the voltages a bit different and you'd hear THAT, though. Also of course less of a maintenance issue.


Yes, but they're not safe in every situation. Voltages are increased and can possibly take out your power supply caps and/or power tube.

This situation is definitely risky for this amp.

guitarcapo
12-21-2010, 12:30 PM
In reality you may only see a 20-25v drop in B+ between vintage 5Y3 and solid state rectifiers in a Champ.

I'd probably be more concerned with the fact that a Champ has no standby switch than anything else.