PDA

View Full Version : Cholesterol at 216.....Is that real bad?

jimmyohio75
02-04-2011, 04:37 PM
Last week I had blood drawn to determine my cholesterol level. I am 42 and I have never done it before. Today I went to my doctor so he could give me the test results. The total cholesterol was 216. I don't recall the individual LDL and HDL numbers. My doctor said he wants me below 200 and he subscribed me a (generic) statin drug. My blood pressure was great and he even did an EKG test which was perfect. Should I be overly concerned about this? :dunno

Teleplayer
02-04-2011, 04:47 PM
It's all about the HDL, LDL, Triglycerides and total cholesterol. There are prescribed ranges for each.

216 Total -- probably NOT a good thing.

I am no doctor, but am fanatical about getting my annual physical, semi-annual check-up and I always watch what I eat.

hangten
02-04-2011, 04:49 PM
If it was me I would just cut out meat and dairy (or drastically reduce them) before taking a statin. you might be surprised at the result. I am not a doctor, I am not suggesting you should do this, and if you did, you should talk it over with your doc first...

just sayin what I personally would do. (I'm 42 also)

good luck!
Aram

sfarnell
02-04-2011, 05:04 PM
It's all about the HDL, LDL, Triglycerides and total cholesterol. There are prescribed ranges for each.

216 Total -- probably NOT a good thing.

I am no doctor, but am fanatical about getting my annual physical, semi-annual check-up and I always watch what I eat.

+1 A total cholesterol reading is almost meaningless. For instance, your HDL or good cholesterol could be really low and therefore could lower that total cholesterol reading. What matters is the ratio of HDL and LDL ( and some other things like triglyceride level, the size of the LDL particles, the type of LDL, etc). A higher LDL is a lot better when there is also a high HDL level.

wilerty
02-04-2011, 05:35 PM