PDA

View Full Version : So...point me where to start in diy pedal building/modding

mojazzmo
05-12-2011, 12:05 AM
So I'm ready to take the first few steps to building and modding my own pedals. Not as a business or anything, just for my own use and to try and get better tones that I want to hear. I will probably start with a BYOC pedal kit to start and get my feet wet and take it from there. This is where I need some direction. Can anyone give me some tips on the following:

any good pedal building books that cover the basics of electronics, if not what about a just a good book on electronics
best place to buy supplies especially a breadboard etc...
best website or forum for diy pedaL building
suggestions for a the basic supply set up like soldering kit, multimeter etc...
anything else I have missed?

I'm a newbie at pedal building etc...as I have just done basic soldering of cables and installing pick ups etc...I know it will be a long, slow learning curve but I have lots of patience.

Thanks in advance,

mcdes
05-12-2011, 12:08 AM
Diystompboxes.com..... I think that's it.

jgribble57
05-12-2011, 01:53 AM
I would recommend starting with a relatively easy kit. The biggest advantage is you will arrive much more quickly at a finished project which will motivate you to continue learning how to do more complicated things....

My first kit was from byoc (www.buildyourownclone.com). Their forum is excellent. www.generalguitargadgets also sells kits and at a slightly cheaper price.

I think the best choice though is the kits at mammothelectronics. These include pcbs from guitarpcb.com and have lots of options to choose from including finished cases and unique knobs. Their store also sells numerous parts. http://www.mammothelectronics.com/category-s/118.htm