View Full Version : What is this Ebay scam? A 1954 Original Goldtop for $1,800??
spyeman
09-15-2011, 03:55 PM
http://www.ebay.com/itm/1954-Gibson-Les-Paul-Goldtop-100-ORIGINAL-/310345632789?pt=Guitar&hash=item48420a8c15
I mean please, come on........
TD_Madden
09-15-2011, 03:57 PM
agree....VERY odd!
EricPeterson
09-15-2011, 03:58 PM
The pictures look pretty legit, doesn't mean the auction is.
mwc2112
09-15-2011, 04:00 PM
Hmm... I live in the next town over from Plano. I wonder if they would let me come check it out.
phisher422
09-15-2011, 04:02 PM
seller has 100% positive feedback with 2090 transactions, is located in the USA, free shipping, the pics look legit... however there is no "buy it now" option up at the top, and i'm not sure what his "rules" are..... anybody in Plano?
spyeman
09-15-2011, 04:04 PM
I just offered him the buy it now for $1,800, lets see what he says.....
chrisr777
09-15-2011, 04:04 PM
2090 deals with 100% feedback? Maybe he meant 180K?
spyeman
09-15-2011, 04:06 PM
mwc2112, I will pay you $500 to pick it up for me tomorrow and ship it lol
Dave2512
09-15-2011, 04:07 PM
If it is legit posting about it here isn't the smartest thing to do. BTW thanks, I made an offer too.
GuitarBuilder
09-15-2011, 04:07 PM
The serial number is for a 1961 Gibson. It's old adage: "if it looks too good to be true, it probably is"....
Couple that with a blurry picture, no details for what should be a very valuable classic and you get: FAKE!
spyeman
09-15-2011, 04:09 PM
Dave, hows this for not being smart - I will cut off my left nut if it's legit.....
phisher422
09-15-2011, 04:13 PM
The serial number is for a 1961 Gibson. It's old adage: "if it looks too good to be true, it probably is"....
Couple that with a blurry picture, no details for what should be a very valuable classic and you get: FAKE!
"The production numbers run in a consecutive order and, aside from a few oddities in the change over years
(1961-1962), it is fairly accurate to use them when identifying solid body instruments produced between
1953 and 1961. Examples of this system:
4 2205 = 1954 614562 = 1956 "
CyberFerret
09-15-2011, 04:13 PM
I just clicked the link, and it has the guitar at $790, not $1800?? Something strange going on in eBay land...
The serial number is for a 1961 Gibson.
No, it isn't. That's a genuine 1954 serial number.
The pictures look completely genuine, therefore the chances of the auction being legit are about ZERO. Stolen pictures.
You are not going to get a '54 Les Paul for a couple of grand. Period.
:bonk
frank62
09-15-2011, 04:18 PM
Regardless that is one sweet Goldtop!
Dave2512
09-15-2011, 04:20 PM
I just clicked the link, and it has the guitar at $790, not $1800?? Something strange going on in eBay land...
Since the link was posted here there's been some bidding activity :rotflmao
scottlr
09-15-2011, 04:22 PM
A 54 wouldn't have had speed knobs, no?
phisher422
09-15-2011, 04:24 PM
No, it isn't. That's a genuine 1954 serial number.
The pictures look completely genuine, therefore the chances of the auction being legit are about ZERO. Stolen pictures.
You are not going to get a '54 Les Paul for a couple of grand. Period.
:bonk
usually stolen pictures are for some listing in nigeria, not texas, and not with a seller with a 2090/100%
strange things are afoot at the circle k........
Frank1959
09-15-2011, 04:27 PM
Someone has been hijacking accounts for the past week or two and listing all sorts of things with that bogus buy it now embedded in the ads on ebay. Check the other items listed by same seller, all have that same 1800 listed in the ads. Report the item as fradulent and they will shut it down. Clear sign it it is a hijack is the email address within the ad.
Bobby D
09-15-2011, 04:29 PM
that type of SCAM has been happening on ebay lately.
an acct with lots of good feedback and activity gets hijacked for a few hours.
DOZENS of posting get put up, all with other people's photos and descriptions.
notice there's an email address and "buy it now instructions" that are one big image file for the auction listing text?
i saw a couple of custom shop Jacksons for sale like that last week......started checking out all the other items that account had for sale -- and there were over 20 different listings, all for BIG $$$ items that were $3000 or more -- guitars, jewelry, watches, tools, ATV's, you name it....
that's just a typical GREED scam - they hope you will feel like you are "taking advantage" of them and getting a KILLER deal - but if you send money to that email address, you will get NOTHING.
ebay account will get shut down or those listings will get killed pretty soon, as most people will report them when they see them.
don't EVER follow the "buy it now" instructions in an auction listing like that one.
if you're gonna do a legit BIN -- do it through ebay -- and then you have recourse and an audit trail.....:hiP
Dave2512
09-15-2011, 04:32 PM
Dave, hows this for not being smart - I will cut off my left nut if it's legit.....
I don't think you'll be losing any body parts. I was being facetious. Definitely a scam.
spyeman
09-15-2011, 04:53 PM
I looked at a bunch of his other high ticket items - they all have the same Buy It Now amount - $1,800. What a crock.......
reddgeetarzan
09-15-2011, 04:55 PM
The serial number is for a 1961 Gibson. It's old adage: "if it looks too good to be true, it probably is"....
Couple that with a blurry picture, no details for what should be a very valuable classic and you get: FAKE!
Exactly how do you acsertain the serial number is for a '61? You might want to do a bit more research. The serial number is legit, but who knows where this guitar actually is- typically a search will show another auction where the pictures of been lifted from.
As far as the auction goes- its an obvious scam- hijacked account- you can't 'bid' on it- how many BUY IT NOW's for $1800 have already been taken on this one....gotta wonder.
korby
09-15-2011, 05:01 PM
Hijacked account , this guy does this all day long .
Seller has a pre-war 00-18 Martin for $500, if you prefer acoustic fraud.
cugel
09-15-2011, 05:02 PM
a auction like that has to be legit...
korby
09-15-2011, 05:08 PM
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Vintage-Titian-Long-Hair-Hi-Color-American-Girl-Barbie-/160652597208?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2567a417d8#ht_6801wt_1154
Barbie for $1,800
A 54 wouldn't have had speed knobs, no?
Yes, those are correct for that year.
The earliest trapeze tailpiece Les Pauls had barrel knobs (like speed knobs, but taller)
Speed knobs from late'52/early '53 to '55
Bonnet knobs from '55 to '60
spyeman
09-15-2011, 05:27 PM
This is what I got when I emailed and offered to buy for it for $1,800 and pick it up tomorrow:
Hi there,
Thank you for showing interest in my auction. As you saw my BUY IT NOW price for this item is $1800 (shipping charges are included in the BIN price ).For a fair deal i want this transaction to be handled by eBay because they will offer protection to both of us and at the end of this transaction we will be able to exchange feedback.What you see in the auction is what you will receive at your door , i will also offer you 14 Days Return Policy so you can inspect the item that you will purchase from me , in case you are not satisfied you can return it back on my cost and you will get a full refund in the same day .
If you are ready to buy this item now , please provide me your full name and address so i can submit your Offer through eBay and request them to register our deal in their system.
Thank you!
CyberFerret
09-15-2011, 05:39 PM
Good work nek @ korby - it looks like this guy hijacks certain accounts, and inserts this graphic into the main body of the ad text with his 'BIN' notice and email address.
He probably trolls for accounts with weak passwords, looks for collectible high value items with no reserve and no pricing information in the main ad text and inserts his graphic at the top. Takes a few seconds and one line of code. (Hint: Look at the revision date on the ad - most of them have been modified one or more times).
The original seller probably has no idea, unless someone contacts them via the normal eBay message area and lets them know their ad has been tampered with.
fretnot
09-15-2011, 05:53 PM
That guitar sold on eBay a little while back from a known seller. This guy stole the auction. It's already been reported.
scottlr
09-15-2011, 05:56 PM
Yes, those are correct for that year.
The earliest trapeze tailpiece Les Pauls had barrel knobs (like speed knobs, but taller)
Speed knobs from late'52/early '53 to '55
Bonnet knobs from '55 to '60
OK, thanks. The case looks real, for sure. I saw the auction was $0.88 with no reserve. If the real deal, the seller expects it to go for near market value.
That guitar sold on eBay a little while back from a known seller. This guy stole the auction. It's already been reported.
Oh, never mind. I guess it doesn't matter.
cruisemates
09-15-2011, 06:19 PM
If it has been reported why is it still up - except now for bid at $760.
I mean I agree, that response email to the BIN has "scam" written all over it. But they haven't shut this auction down.
ronedee
09-15-2011, 07:31 PM
their main business on Ebay is jewelry, so I'm guessing this is the place:
5th Ave Jewelry
1810 Nest Pl
Plano, TX 75093-6033
http://www.yellowusapages.com/webicons/phone.png (972) 867-2429
Business Category: Retail, Manufacturing & Wholesale Jewelry
korby
09-15-2011, 08:34 PM
Gone .
vBulletin® v3.8.5, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.