PDA

View Full Version : Is CNC the way to go ?

Seth B
10-08-2011, 01:38 PM
Hi all,

I am hoping some of the expert luthiers here will find this thread.
I am currently a small custom builder and I am looking to take things to the next level and develop a small range of "standard" models and to speed up build time and increase accuracy. At present I just use a hand router and jigs for neck joints/pickups etc and the rest all by hand.
I have been toying with the idea of getting a Desk top CNC router for various parts of the build, and was wondering what views are with regards to CNC vs pin router and copy carver ? Or any recommendations for a small to mid size workshop set up on a sensible budget.
Any information on pro's and cons would be most welcome.

Thanks

sondich
10-08-2011, 09:37 PM
I read this blog post from Decibel Guitars a while back that may provide some useful info.

http://decibelguitars.com/why-the-controversy-over-cnc/

Steve

simon_62
10-09-2011, 05:05 AM
I'd prefer to have a CNC at hand to reduce the leg-work (and cost) on certain aspects of builds. I enjoy the making process but there are times when things would be so much more straightforward to be able to CNC them instead....

Seth B
10-09-2011, 05:22 AM
Thanks for posting guys. I read the Decibel blog, I also found an old thread on here discussing CNC with some great contributions from some great luthiers such as John Suhr, Anderson, Briggs, Thorn etc. A very interesting read. It seems a good way to go if quality and accuracy are your number one priority and also I like the idea of doing less donkey work and concentrating more on the finer hand details.
Exciting ....

corn husk bag
10-09-2011, 05:32 AM
Hi Seth,
Good luck to you on your venture! Can you post a photo of one of your builds? Where are you located?

Kind Regards,
Steve

Eagle1
10-09-2011, 07:43 AM
Absolutely .
You should spend the hand work time doing the things that need it.

Crash-VR
10-09-2011, 02:49 PM