1. Ardis

Ardis Member

Just taking an informal poll, as I have little experience with different brands of potentiometers and caps. What do you think are the best pots and caps for Gibson guitars?

Thanks.

2. alderbody

alderbody Member

CTS are the best you can find these days.

RS Guitarworks have some serious kits for your guitar.

give it a try :AOK

3. John Phillips

John Phillips Member

I wouldn't actually recommend CTS any more. I'm still using them (until I can find a suitable replacement type) but I have had some problems with poor quality on the most recent couple of batches I've had.

Worst, a major weakness in the pot assembly that causes the shaft to push the back off the pot and the whole thing fall apart when fitting the knob (on split shafts). And I wouldn't say I'm pushing excessively hard, or any more so than in the past.

They also feel rougher and cruder to turn, as if the shaft is loose in the bushing, and/or not lubricated properly. There seems to have been a fall in the machining or materials quality. I've also noticed that the nuts have been changed from milled to stamped - a small thing, but says a lot. I had one nut actually strip itself while tightening.

I'm not at all happy about this, I've been using them for years and never had any problems until recently. I will be taking my money elsewhere as soon as I can though.

4. alderbody

alderbody Member

Yes, i know about some recent problems with CTS pots, but as you said you found a few bad ones in a batch.

If one buys a tested and measured set of pots, i don't think that there would be a problem.

I'm sure that RS or any other CTS retailer must have found bad pots in their batches, too. (and an increasing number of bad ones is definately ringing a bell)

But the 'end user' should recieve a good pot after all.

So i'd better rephrase;
    CTS are the best till something better comes up... ;)

5. John Phillips

John Phillips Member

I wouldn't describe it like that.