Is CNC the way to go ?

Discussion in 'The Small Company Luthiers' started by Seth B, Oct 8, 2011.

1. Seth B

Seth B Member

Hi all,

I am hoping some of the expert luthiers here will find this thread.
    I am currently a small custom builder and I am looking to take things to the next level and develop a small range of "standard" models and to speed up build time and increase accuracy. At present I just use a hand router and jigs for neck joints/pickups etc and the rest all by hand.
    I have been toying with the idea of getting a Desk top CNC router for various parts of the build, and was wondering what views are with regards to CNC vs pin router and copy carver ? Or any recommendations for a small to mid size workshop set up on a sensible budget.
    Any information on pro's and cons would be most welcome.

Thanks

2. sondich

sondich Supporting Member

3. simon_62

simon_62 Member

I'd prefer to have a CNC at hand to reduce the leg-work (and cost) on certain aspects of builds. I enjoy the making process but there are times when things would be so much more straightforward to be able to CNC them instead....

4. Seth B

Seth B Member

Thanks for posting guys. I read the Decibel blog, I also found an old thread on here discussing CNC with some great contributions from some great luthiers such as John Suhr, Anderson, Briggs, Thorn etc. A very interesting read. It seems a good way to go if quality and accuracy are your number one priority and also I like the idea of doing less donkey work and concentrating more on the finer hand details.
    Exciting ....

5. corn husk bag

corn husk bag Supporting Member

Hi Seth,
    Good luck to you on your venture! Can you post a photo of one of your builds? Where are you located?

Kind Regards,
    Steve

6. Eagle1

Eagle1 Member

Absolutely .
    You should spend the hand work time doing the things that need it.

7. Crash-VR

Crash-VR Supporting Member