Modding an EHX Freeze

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by dangayle, Dec 10, 2010.

1. dangayle

dangayle Member

The Freeze is the coolest pedal to come around in a long time, but I hate the footswitch. I switch it a lot, and it's a hard click footswitch (Not audible in the audio signal, it's just a loud physical click that gets annoying). Also, depending on how you use it, you're liable to hit the switch for every chord change, meaning that the switch on this pedal had better be robust over the long term.

How difficult would it be to replace the switch with a soft-touch footswitch? And has anyone thought of modding this pedal in other ways?

2. jahsoul

jahsoul Member

I imagine just opening, snipping, soldering, closing and that should be it. Make sure you put everything back where you found it on the switch.

3. dangayle

dangayle Member

Because I'm still new to modding pedals, a soft-touch is functionally the same as a standard switch, right?

4. jahsoul

jahsoul Member

Yeah, just doesn't latch. Momentary is what you'd look for on pedal parts plus and such.

5. muffinMan74

muffinMan74 Member

6. dramaticrunner

dramaticrunner Member

7. dangayle

dangayle Member

Is the Freeze true-bypass? Also, I don't really think there is that much room in the pedal for another pcb. I could be wrong though.

8. kp8

kp8 Member

It's buffered. It sort of has to be if you think about what it does.

The switch is a bit klitty klack. I did a solo gallery gig with it recently and the sound of the pedal engaging and disengaging got kind of irritating. Having the click announce your sound is kinda sad. In a bar setting it likely wouldn't matter or be heard but in this context it was a bummer. I covered it with a towel but that didn't help much and also meant I couldn't adjust the level with my toe easily. On the plus side I didn't have to look at the ugly graphics (when did EHX pedals get hit with the ugly stick?)