|
#1
|
||||
|
||||
|
***TGP Members Beware -- Scammers!!!!***
There have been a number of reported scammers trying to buy/sell gear lately. All TGP members need to be on alert and looking for such folks; they are out to rip you off.
If you have any sort of correspondence or see any such posts here; do not do a deal with them by any means. Instead, report the post(s) and member names to us ASAP. You'll spot the tell tale signs from a PM, email or post with syntax and context as follows: I am contacting you regarding your wanted advert, How you still interested in buying this item.. I have it still in good working condition and in perfect order. Good price is accepted, if you are interested in buying from me. Let me know your price as well as the your shipping contact address for shipping to your home. And i will get back to you with details...Thanks and hope to hear from you soon. Best regards **** ****** (any number of assumed aliases) From ******** (Canada, Spain, etc.)
__________________
--- Scott Peterson Music | Band | Fitness | YouTube Channel Guitars: Melancon | PRS | Taylor | Tyler USA Variax Live/Recording Rig: Fractal Audio Axe-FX II and MFC-101 | Mission Engineering | Atomic Amps CLR Affiliations/Disclosures: Click here Recent Review(s): Luxxtone El Machete 22, Tannoy VX12 & VX12HP, Matrix 1500FXBD, Atomic CLR |
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
Posted in every emporium area now - folks, be aware and be careful.
__________________
--- Scott Peterson Music | Band | Fitness | YouTube Channel Guitars: Melancon | PRS | Taylor | Tyler USA Variax Live/Recording Rig: Fractal Audio Axe-FX II and MFC-101 | Mission Engineering | Atomic Amps CLR Affiliations/Disclosures: Click here Recent Review(s): Luxxtone El Machete 22, Tannoy VX12 & VX12HP, Matrix 1500FXBD, Atomic CLR |
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
Keyword = "item" rather than whatever it actually is...
Scammers seem to love the word "item" these days... |
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
|
How you still interested
Good price is accepted lol people still fall for these poorly worded scams? I'm gonna place a new ad "WTB: Item in good working condition and perfect order!" |
|
#5
|
||||
|
||||
|
Thanks Scott!
__________________
My name is Herb....and I'm a Moderator! Music: www.rumorsmarin.com www.tungngruve.net |
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
I suppose scammers can live in the US too, but nice to point out Canada and Spain. But a good note of awareness.
|
|
#7
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
Two words Ni geria
__________________
"Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible." -Frank Zappa |
|
#8
|
|||
|
|||
|
__________________
Good Transactions: Preacherofrock,HugalosPizza,Helland,Anth72,dwyatt, Sean French,whiskeyzulu,jmiller475,puddlefish,whsdhs1,J d3,Vegas Bob,TungstenAmp,Bman20,Tbone135,guitardustin,steph enyi,c2ply,harryjmic,Michael_Boyet,ComanchePlayer, downsy,scott757,Rhino,vltjd,RCstudios,jimmytron,TJ jones,Tbig,Telefunky,jstippell,razmandi,mike shaw,rcboals,daquistojazz,lordofthethighs,wallinbb ,dbeeman,scott_eave,JackVanPage, |
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
|
So the one I got from The Duke of Earl today was no good.
|
|
#10
|
||||
|
||||
|
I had a WTB ad in the Emporium and, was contacted by Mich from Canada; using the same poorly written English.
While it was clearly a scam, I asked the following questions and got the following answers: Q. Are you the original owner? A. Yes. Q. Where did you buy the amp? A. Canada. The Toronto amp show. Q. Do you have the original receipt of purchase? A. No, but my lawyer will provide bill of sale. Q. Do you have any pictures of the amp? A. He sends me 3 pictures of the exact amp that I am looking for via attachment. Q. What's your TGP name? A. I am a new member (no name given) Q. I'm a little leery of this transaction, I'm gonna pass. A. Okay. Send me half of the amount now and pay the rest after you receipt the item. Q. How about you send me the amp first, and when I receive it, I will pay you if full? A. No thanks. That was actual dialogue with the scammer. He even sent me a link to a website "he" owns as he is into HAM Radio. He sent me pictures for crying' out loud!!!!! Oh yeah. These guys are good. Thank God they have no concept of the English language...
__________________
Guitars: Gibson LP's, SG's, a ES335 and a TAG S-Classic Amps: Fender, Louis Electric, Carol Ann, Glaswerks, Friedman, Metro Cabs: Fender, StoneAge, Forte, Glaswerks, Stage-Craft Pedals: ...Oh man.. |
|
#11
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() http://www.419eater.com/ |
|
#12
|
|||
|
|||
|
I like you call me so my agent come pick up the item at time you specify.
__________________
- My gear sounds like every guitar player's dreams! - |
|
#13
|
|||
|
|||
|
The following transpired this past week. The guy contacted me directly re: a WTB ad via the e-mail address listed in my TGP Profile contact information…resisted giving me his screen name...
Thanks for your email..OK.I am new to gearpage and my name is gearjuan..I am a Belgium citizen that base in Canada and also a proud member of the amateur ham radio..You can read my website and below you will found my pictures of the website http://qrzcq.com/call/ON8DM Let me know how much you willing to offer including shipping and insurance to your doorstep...I will be using UPS,FEDED,DHL for the shipping..Let me know which one you prefer thanks and hope to hear from you soon Thanks for your email..I have attached pictures for you to view…it is in good condition and work perfectly well....Look clean and excellent..let me know how much you are willing to offer including shipping and insurance to your doorstep..I will need your shipping address for delivery..My mode of payment is via bank transfer or paypal..let me know which one you prefer and i will send you my details for payment thanks and hope to hear from you soon I feel very bad with the tone of your email...I am a highly insulted On 8/12/12, james siebert <jjsiebert@msn.com> wrote: > > Hi Mich. What is your screen name? Frankly, your inquiry sounds a lot like > a Craigs List scam in its vagueness. ('...your wanted advert', '...this > item', '...still in good working condition and perfect order.) Maybe it's a > language thing (lost in translation?) but I need to hear some specifics from > you before I pursue any dialogue. > Date: Fri, 10 Aug 2012 13:06:36 -0700 > Subject: 65Amps Tupelo head > From: michgevaert@gmail.com > To: jjsiebert@msn.com > > I am contacting you regarding your wanted advert, How you still interested > in buying this item.. I have it still in good working condition and in > perfect order. Good price is accepted, if you are interested in buying from > me. Let me know your price as well as the your shipping contact address for > shipping to your home. And i will get back to you with details...Thanks and > hope to hear from you soon. > > > Best regards > Mich Gevaert > From Canada >
__________________
"Shut the fu*k up! This is a fu*kin' rock 'n roll concert not a fu*kin' tea party!" - Pete Townshend Gear: Soldano, 65Amps, Victoria, Star, Les Paul, Strats, Tele, PRS McCarty, Suhr Custom Stnd, Lovepedal, Skreddy, Analogman, Wampler, Xotic, Mad Professor, Barber, Malekko |
|
#14
|
||||
|
||||
|
"....look clean and excellent..."
FTW!
__________________
Guitars: Gibson LP's, SG's, a ES335 and a TAG S-Classic Amps: Fender, Louis Electric, Carol Ann, Glaswerks, Friedman, Metro Cabs: Fender, StoneAge, Forte, Glaswerks, Stage-Craft Pedals: ...Oh man.. |
|
#15
|
||||
|
||||
that a relief.thanks Scott. they're everywhere these days.
__________________
(sixty2strat)"Imagine going from Beatle to Bieber in terms of respect." good deals: Papatar, Treeofpain, Slotools, Jbb, Zzzzzz, VintageToneGuy,Tigerfan2, Unclemeet, cbstrat, remocity, BrianK, SoCalSteve, Clapton is God, Loneomedave, RitalinCupcake |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|