Become a Supporting Member


Go Back   The Gear Page > The Gear > Digital & Modeling Gear

Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #631  
Old 07-11-2013, 11:33 AM
pir8matt pir8matt is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trampa Bay
Posts: 5,501
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eagle1 View Post
In what way are the switches better ? Different yes but.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eagle1 View Post
I think it is cosmetic , they are not any more robust.
They couldn't be any worse. Those switches hang up equally across all the M5/M9/HD300/400/500 products.

Seems like anything would be better. It's not that they break as much as its just a design flaw. I've heard of people having issues with them right out of the box.
Reply With Quote
  #632  
Old 07-11-2013, 11:34 AM
phil_m phil_m is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,790
Quote:
From the video of Andertons you can see him pushing effortlessly the switch, with the original FBV this take a lot more pressure to push. The original FBV switches are road graded and they do last.
Just going from what they look like... But they are being marketed as an upgrade - "pro grade". They could be more of soft-switch type thing like the Strymon switches. In reality, I'm sure they're not actually switches - they're actually actuators/plungers. But they do look to be a step up from the old switches.

Honestly, though, I've had my M13 for almost five years, and I've never had any issue with those switches. I do know there are sporadic complaints with them, though. So good on Line 6 for addressing it.
__________________
Line 6 Expert User

My profile at Line 6 Forums
Reply With Quote
  #633  
Old 07-11-2013, 11:35 AM
Pietro Pietro is offline
2-Voice Guitar Junkie
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Maineville, OH
Posts: 12,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eagle1 View Post
But selling the old ones for nothing "is" pissing on your customers .
Where are they doing that? I see a handful of merchants blowing out their stock. My local store (I was just there) is just selling the HD 500s at regular price right now.

What are they supposed to do with that stuff? If they are giving their retailers incentives to move out the few HD 500s that are out there... bravo for them. Nice to do something nice for the guy who actually sells your product.

GC online seems to be out, Sweetwater is out. MF has knocked a hundred bucks off...

It's not pissing on your customers. It's only a handful of them. It's basically what you do to NOT piss on (or piss off) your retailers.
__________________
LOVE YOUR AUDIENCE GTRS: Tom Anderson: Crowdster + 2, Hollow Atom CT, T Classic Wechter: Pathmaker (US)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NakedInTheRain View Post
this tgp thread is the most tgp thread in the history of tgp threads.
Electric & Acoustic AT THE SAME TIME Electric & Acoustic with Variax Check out my music!
Reply With Quote
  #634  
Old 07-11-2013, 11:35 AM
Eagle1 Eagle1 is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Twilight Zone
Posts: 6,358
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicolasrivera View Post
F
rom the video of Andertons you can see him pushing effortlessly the switch, with the original FBV this take a lot more pressure to push. The original FBV switches are road graded and they do last.
The ones on the hd have been used on the xt x3 and m so they are road tested , if you open it up the switches are both a bit suspect to say the least.
Reply With Quote
  #635  
Old 07-11-2013, 11:35 AM
nicolasrivera nicolasrivera is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Honduras
Posts: 1,517
THere are many design flaws in the unit.
Reply With Quote
  #636  
Old 07-11-2013, 11:37 AM
Pietro Pietro is offline
2-Voice Guitar Junkie
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Maineville, OH
Posts: 12,934
one drop of 3-in-1 oil on those footswitches on the HD 500 and M series and they are silent for a long long time (only ever had to do this once on either unit).

I know some have had issues, I never did. Owned 3 L6 products with those switches... no... four...
__________________
LOVE YOUR AUDIENCE GTRS: Tom Anderson: Crowdster + 2, Hollow Atom CT, T Classic Wechter: Pathmaker (US)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NakedInTheRain View Post
this tgp thread is the most tgp thread in the history of tgp threads.
Electric & Acoustic AT THE SAME TIME Electric & Acoustic with Variax Check out my music!
Reply With Quote
  #637  
Old 07-11-2013, 11:37 AM
phil_m phil_m is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,790
Quote:
THere are many design flaws in the unit.
You're a design flaw...

OK, that's mean... But, seriously... You're too much.
__________________
Line 6 Expert User

My profile at Line 6 Forums
Reply With Quote
  #638  
Old 07-11-2013, 11:53 AM
KarlHouseknecht KarlHouseknecht is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,320
I think "flaw" is a strong word. Perhaps we could say that there are some design decisions made in the first gen unit that may not have been optimal?

1. No power switch.
2. Power plug outer shield is exposed and subject to shorting.
3. USB too close to power input...easy to fry the unit. Has been done.
4. Input configuration makes it near impossible to achieve unity gain.
5. Effects loop difficult to achieve unit gain.
6. First gen unit is arguably underpowered in the DSP section.
7. Switches are of suspect quality. (yes, lower failure rate than X3, but still...the sight of them... )

Line6 appears to have addressed at least two of these "flaws" in the new unit. That's commendable. Would be great if some of the other ones had been too.
__________________
Guitars: Schecter C-1 FR Custom, Schecter C-1 Custom, Fender Standard Telecaster Swirl, Fender Deluxe Blackout Telecaster
Amps: Atomic CLR Neo Powered Wedges
Effects: Axe-Fx II, MFC-101, 2 BOSS FV-500H, Line6 HD500X
Affiliations: Line 6 Expert User
Reply With Quote
  #639  
Old 07-11-2013, 11:58 AM
nicolasrivera nicolasrivera is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Honduras
Posts: 1,517
What is a logical simple explanation for omitting a power switch?
Reply With Quote
  #640  
Old 07-11-2013, 12:01 PM
James Freeman James Freeman is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicolasrivera View Post
What is a logical simple explanation for omitting a power switch?
Non-stop ROCK !!!!
Reply With Quote
  #641  
Old 07-11-2013, 12:04 PM
phil_m phil_m is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,790
Quote:
What is a logical simple explanation for omitting a power switch?
It could be that there simply wasn't room on the chassis for a switch and rather than increase the size of the chassis and add cost, they simply decided not to add the switch. Or it could be that the switch was seen as another potential failure point. I have read more than few instances of people having the switches on older PODs fail.

The funny thing is there's a switch on the M13, but since I have the M13 mounted to my pedalboard, I never use it. I just always leave it on. The lack of a power switch never really bothered me on the HD500.
__________________
Line 6 Expert User

My profile at Line 6 Forums
Reply With Quote
  #642  
Old 07-11-2013, 12:09 PM
James Freeman James Freeman is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 325
A little DIY and one of these will do the trick:



Anyone anticipating new HD Amps?
I think the HD500 can cover all the gain ranges from clean-crunch-drive-metal... and more.
Reply With Quote
  #643  
Old 07-11-2013, 12:15 PM
drew_fx drew_fx is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 396
Power switch isn't electronically necessary, just like a standby switch for valve amps isn't electronically necessary.

Not sure what you mean by the outer shield being exposed; my PSU wasn't like that.

Not exactly sure how the proximity of the USB input to the power input makes it any easier to fry the unit.

Definitely agree the FX loop is flawed. Using up two effects slots just to get basic 4cm is pretty poor.

DSP... well... I think we've covered that.

Finally, the switches. Yes... they are really crap and are prone to failure. My JVM's footswitch has the same plunger+actuator combo, and Santiago tried to convince me that they're more reliable than a simple SPST wired switch. I disagree of course.
__________________
TACOMA NARROWS BRIDGE DISASTER
I work for FXpansion Audio UK Ltd. My views are my own and are not related to my job.
Reply With Quote
  #644  
Old 07-11-2013, 12:46 PM
KarlHouseknecht KarlHouseknecht is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by drew_fx View Post
Power switch isn't electronically necessary, just like a standby switch for valve amps isn't electronically necessary.
No, but it's nice to have. Having to unplug and replug the unit when you need to do a reset or update is just goofy and can lead to user error by inserting the plug in either the L6 Link or USB jack by mistake. POW! It HAS happened.

Quote:
Not sure what you mean by the outer shield being exposed; my PSU wasn't like that.
The outer sleeve of the plug that goes into the unit sticks out about 1/4" from the plug in the unit. There was an incident where someone shorted something else out because it laid across the sleeve.

Quote:
Not exactly sure how the proximity of the USB input to the power input makes it any easier to fry the unit.
VERY easy to accidentally plug the PSU into the USB jack. Sparks fly. Your unit is now toast. It HAS happened. And if your eyesight is anything like my aging eyes afford, it's doubly easy.

Quote:
Definitely agree the FX loop is flawed. Using up two effects slots just to get basic 4cm is pretty poor.
Two? How so? My comment applies to getting the levels of the FX Loop correct.
__________________
Guitars: Schecter C-1 FR Custom, Schecter C-1 Custom, Fender Standard Telecaster Swirl, Fender Deluxe Blackout Telecaster
Amps: Atomic CLR Neo Powered Wedges
Effects: Axe-Fx II, MFC-101, 2 BOSS FV-500H, Line6 HD500X
Affiliations: Line 6 Expert User
Reply With Quote
  #645  
Old 07-11-2013, 01:19 PM
DG_Griffin DG_Griffin is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 322
It would be nice to see some price drops on the "old" HD units now that this has been released.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©1999-2014, The Gear Page, LLC, Brian Scherzer
All rights reserved.
Banner Design: Chris Sileo