The Gear Page. A Gear Discussion Website for Musicians
A Gear Discussion Website for Musicians
Become a Supporting Member

Go Back   The Gear Page > The Gear > Amps and Cabs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2007, 10:52 PM
re-animator re-animator is offline
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York/San Diego
Posts: 6,098
so do you ever read the ads on craigslist that make you piss yourself??

you have to see this to believe it:

http://sandiego.craigslist.org/msg/406841663.html


I'm not one for boldface red text, but I'm all riled up.... vintage hiwatt custom 100 for $100? That head is worth easily 12 times that amount. I've already e-mailed the guy, so I hope no San Diego area TGPers get in a bidding war with me, lol.

Anyway, that thing is almost certainly some sort of mistake, or con or something, but even then, its worth checking out. I have no use at all for a 4x12 cab, but I'd be happy to take it off his hands and drop it off at the nearest dumpster for the chance to pick up this smokin deal. I badly need a new tube amp, and I didn't want to go vintage, but hiwatt heads are virtually indestructable. I've e-mailed the guy and hopefully i'll be able to check it out after class tomorrow (he hasn't responded to me yet, but this was about 5 mins ago).... if its legit, I will be taking it home.






:BEER
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-26-2007, 11:21 PM
GDking GDking is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,584
Enjoy your stolen amp.
__________________
Stratocaster > A bunch of tube screamer ripoffs > Fender clone amp > 2x12 with celestion copies.


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-26-2007, 11:26 PM
re-animator re-animator is offline
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York/San Diego
Posts: 6,098
gahhhh......... the posting was just deleted by the author.





ah well, too good to be true.....








and I doubt it was a stolen amp... if he really needed the quick sale he could easily get more than $100 even at a pawnshop.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-26-2007, 11:35 PM
Antihero Antihero is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 51
Crap its usually the other way around here. Like the guy that has a "extremley rare" Ampeg V4 with the "very very very rare" matching 1x15 cab and the head is "the much desired" master volume and "should easily fetch in the 4 digits".
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-26-2007, 11:50 PM
iaresee iaresee is offline
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In A Big Country
Posts: 1,336
There was an FP777 on Toronto's CL about a month ago. $50. Apparently it was legit. The guy who sold it and the guy who bought it showed up on GuitarGeek and responded to a thread I'd posted about it. Might have been a stolen gear scam. It all just felt wrong. The guy who bought it was trying to trade it for an amp.
__________________
- IAN C. -

Good Deals With: Stearnsound, turtleheadblues,
gregit, TD Moyer, slopeshoulder, Jazzgear, Shredcow, steadygarcia, tapeup, 96vette, datguytim, olejason, jimfog, ari, screamingdaisy, voytski, sh333, daveaust and a few more I can't remember...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-27-2007, 12:05 AM
bolero bolero is offline
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 337
what the heck is an FP777 ???
__________________
"First off, nobody cares if you know how to play scales. Nobody gives a shit if you have good technique or not. It's whether you have feelings that you want to express with music, that's what counts, really." -Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-27-2007, 12:17 AM
bosstone bosstone is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 3,342
I get about half my stuff from CL. I live in the SF Bay Area and there is a lot of equipment available here. Most of what I see I am not interested in but the same is true of eBay. I travel a lot in the Bay and Delta Area so it is convenient for me to check out the equipment. I like the fact that I can actually see and hear the equipment before I buy. If there is something wrong with it, I only have myself to blame. I don't have to wait two weeks to get it. I don't have pay for or shipment or worry about damage in shipment either. I can usually find gear for ten to twenty percent less than on eBay. I have been ripped off twice on eBay but never on Craig's list. I have also met some surprisingly good players and made a few friends from CL.

Now for the bad part: I have had many a fool try to low ball me. Ones who try to pull bogus money order scams. Others who never answer their posts, don't remove them or take the time to let you know their stuff has already sold. I have had several buyers who never showed up, tire kickers who want to crank your amp to 10 for an hour and don't buy. I also don't like having people I don't know inside my house, though I usually have them come to my garage, where I have only one guitar and one amp. (never let them start playing through your pedals).

In general, I feel I would rather buy from Craig's List, when I can find the stuff there. I would generally prefer to sell things through eBay.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-27-2007, 09:22 AM
JubileeMan 2555 JubileeMan 2555 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,773
They are not all scams/stolen. I picked up a fully functioning Rhodes 88 Stage piano for $100 two months ago from an older guy that had it in his garage.

It never hurts to contact them and get a dialogue going. One can usually figure out quickly how legit these things are.
__________________
Tyler

"... I bought it online when drunk"
Guitar Rig with Recording Samples
YouTube Video demo of my sound
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-27-2007, 09:39 AM
iaresee iaresee is offline
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In A Big Country
Posts: 1,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by bolero View Post
what the heck is an FP777 ???
From here:
Quote:
One of the best panphases of all time. The Flying Pan is comparable to Roland’s Jetphase, with the added function of stereo autopan. Ultra swooshy killer phase!!
You see them on eBay occasionally. Like this one. I've seen them sell for $300-$400 more than that without much of a bidding war.
__________________
- IAN C. -

Good Deals With: Stearnsound, turtleheadblues,
gregit, TD Moyer, slopeshoulder, Jazzgear, Shredcow, steadygarcia, tapeup, 96vette, datguytim, olejason, jimfog, ari, screamingdaisy, voytski, sh333, daveaust and a few more I can't remember...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-27-2007, 09:44 AM
re-animator re-animator is offline
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York/San Diego
Posts: 6,098
I've bought both my current guitar and my current car on craigslist
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-27-2007, 10:45 AM
guitarist58 guitarist58 is online now
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Bernardino, CA
Posts: 3,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by JubileeMan 2555 View Post
They are not all scams/stolen. I picked up a fully functioning Rhodes 88 Stage piano for $100 two months ago from an older guy that had it in his garage.

It never hurts to contact them and get a dialogue going. One can usually figure out quickly how legit these things are.
That's right--and there's one more thing it might be. I'm not that familiar with Craigslist, but there is a "shopper" type weekly in the southwest U.S. called the Recycler. Once in a while you would see an ad like that--some holy grail for next to nothing. I had friends who worked at the Recycler (even worked there myself for a short time). Found out that some of those ads like that are placed by someone other than the purported seller for purposes of harassment or revenge. The victims phone ringing off the hook all day or email getting overloaded, etc...
__________________
Great dealings with El Gallo Negro, MrMunky, jzucker, TyeDyeDevil, VintageToneGuy, williamh, Killcrop, batlas, Supertgtr, BAN, FloridaSam, brianm99, leofender, Man with Gas, kurt1981, turtleheadblues, leumasjames, fugot, 77custom, tripp2k, joemesser, Bejazzz, hugodarosa
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2009, The Gear Page, LLC, Brian Scherzer
All rights reserved.
Banner Design: Chris Sileo