Become a Supporting Member


Go Back   The Gear Page > The Gear > Amps and Cabs

Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-18-2008, 10:09 PM
Lt_Core Lt_Core is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Land of cheese & beer
Posts: 1,793
Hughes & Kettner Red Box MKIII

Has anyone ever used one of these boxes on their combo instead of mic'ing the speaker?

The Red Box MKIII converts your amp's line out or speaker out signal into a balanced, frequency-compensated signal that you can feed directly into a mixer. An upgrade over the MK II, the III features a switch to emulate either a 4x12-cabinet or combo.
__________________
Guitars: '06 Gibson Les Paul Vintage Mahogany, '07 American Fender Deluxe Ash Stratocaster, '10 Classic Vibe Telecaster
Amps: Budda SDII 30 2x12 & Classic 50 (gigs), Cube 60 (home/rehearsal)
Effects: Keeley, Lovepedal, PaulC Audio, Boss, Wampler, Pedaltrain, Basic Audio, TC Electronic
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-19-2008, 08:13 AM
samhill samhill is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 796
Get a Palmer PDI09. I used the H&K for years, the Palmer sounds less fizzy.

Mark
__________________
Mark Day
Work at ToneMerchants/RackSystems N. Hollywood, CA
Above company owns Friedman Amplification.
Artist for Fractal Audio, ToneFreak, Matrix Amplification
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-19-2008, 09:42 AM
DavidE DavidE is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dublin, Ohio
Posts: 2,445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lt_Core View Post
Has anyone ever used one of these boxes on their combo instead of mic'ing the speaker?

The Red Box MKIII converts your amp's line out or speaker out signal into a balanced, frequency-compensated signal that you can feed directly into a mixer. An upgrade over the MK II, the III features a switch to emulate either a 4x12-cabinet or combo.
I ended up with a Mk II, a Pro and a Mark III but never got the chance to use one. Let me know if you want a used one in great shape.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-19-2008, 10:25 AM
Tripower455 Tripower455 is online now
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hoogie Boogie Land! (Naples, FL)
Posts: 5,144
I've been using an old original one with my Hiwatt for the last year or so..... Sounds great with no feedback issues.

I'd like to get a MkIII. Does anyone know if the MkII will work with phantom power?
__________________
Buying a Volkswagen reminds me of Dr. Johnson's description of second marriages: "The triumph of hope over experience." Kiwi
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-19-2008, 10:33 AM
rhythmrocker rhythmrocker is offline
1966 Battle of the Bands
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: City by the Bay, CA
Posts: 2,668
Quote:
Originally Posted by samhill View Post
Get a Palmer PDI09. I used the H&K for years, the Palmer sounds less fizzy.

Mark
+1 and it is passive requiring no power.
__________________
Mr. Govan: "the best anti-GAS remedy is playing music for a living."
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-19-2008, 11:13 AM
Axekisser Axekisser is offline
Supporting Member
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sunny Buffalo!
Posts: 1,152
I use the H&K Pro in a stereo set-up. I think they sound better when fed a line signal from my board instead of the amp signal. I just loop one side through to the amp on stage and feed the house a pair of line driven HK pro. Seems less buzzy to me that way.
__________________
Mike D
Custom Cables
Guitar Tech
www.Axekisser.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-19-2008, 11:28 AM
buchla300 buchla300 is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,367
I have one hooked up to a Brunetti preamp and it's very good. The 1 x 12 setting is great.
Selling due to a palmer PDI arrival..

Last edited by buchla300; 08-12-2010 at 01:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-19-2008, 11:46 AM
Tripower455 Tripower455 is online now
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hoogie Boogie Land! (Naples, FL)
Posts: 5,144
Oh, and I use the line out of my amp to feed it instead of "speaker through".......
__________________
Buying a Volkswagen reminds me of Dr. Johnson's description of second marriages: "The triumph of hope over experience." Kiwi
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-19-2008, 06:39 PM
Gary Brennan's Avatar
Gary Brennan Gary Brennan is online now
Old cavorting member
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cooperstown NY
Posts: 1,178
I use the Pro (with speaker sim off) fed from the 16 ohm output of my amp to feed the wet side of a wet/dry rig, works great for this.

gb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©1999-2014, The Gear Page, LLC, Brian Scherzer
All rights reserved.
Banner Design: Chris Sileo