Become a Supporting Member


Go Back   The Gear Page > The Gear > Digital & Modeling Gear

Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2009, 02:33 PM
jguss jguss is offline
Supporting Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 151
11 Rack with non-Digidesign DAW

Does anyone know conclusively whether Eleven Rack will work with Cubase, Logic, etc.? I'd imagine you'd lose the embedded patch settings, but I'm wondering about the straight guitar signal for reamping etc.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-28-2009, 08:14 PM
suckamc suckamc is offline
Supporting Member
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,791
I'm gonna give you a bump
__________________
Endorsement Disclosure: Pigtronix, Line 6, Reverend Guitars, Ronin Guitars, Rockett Pedals, Pedaltrain, Curt Mangan Strings, Two Notes Audio Engineering and Lollar pickups.

http://www.youtube.com/user/123suckamc
I give Skype lessons. $90/mo
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2009, 08:36 PM
Burgs Burgs is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Brett K - Melbourne
Posts: 1,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by jguss View Post
Does anyone know conclusively whether Eleven Rack will work with Cubase, Logic, etc.? I'd imagine you'd lose the embedded patch settings, but I'm wondering about the straight guitar signal for reamping etc.
I'm a Logic person and Avid (Australia) gave me an Eleven Rack to test. I have had it for a week and have to say that it's pretty damn cool.

With Logic though, the USB stream only spits out the dry signal (guitar into guitar input) - it seems to bypass the DSP. You can monitor with DSP, but the processed audio won't go up the USB stream, or at least I couldn't get it to. From what I can tell, the only way to route the modeling in a DAW apart from Pro Tools would be to feed separate outputs (ie. not the USB) into other inputs (going to Logic or whatever). This didn't impress me much although I can understand the business reasoning behind it. I did, however, try it with Pro Tools 8 LE 8.01 on my MacBook Pro running 10.6.1 and it was a joy. In fact, it even turned my hair around a little and made me want to investigate PT a little more closely; something I've not done for years.

I think David Torn has broached the Eleven Rack/foreign DAW issue elsewhere on these boards, as he has one as well. Unfortunately I haven't got a clue where said post/thread might be.

I must stress that this evaluation is based on my short experience with the ER and others may have better advice. As always, YMMV.
__________________
See more.
Proof that I'm working on it.
I have endorsement agreements with Laney UK, HIWATT UK, PRS Guitars, ESP Guitars and Providence Effects, Japan.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-28-2009, 08:40 PM
suckamc suckamc is offline
Supporting Member
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,791
What the hell???? If that's true...

Man.
__________________
Endorsement Disclosure: Pigtronix, Line 6, Reverend Guitars, Ronin Guitars, Rockett Pedals, Pedaltrain, Curt Mangan Strings, Two Notes Audio Engineering and Lollar pickups.

http://www.youtube.com/user/123suckamc
I give Skype lessons. $90/mo
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-28-2009, 08:56 PM
splatt's Avatar
splatt splatt is offline
Gold Supporting Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by suckamc View Post
What the hell???? If that's true...

Man.
it would def suck, if it were true;
but, it isn't.

i recorded the full "rig" signal easily in Logic, w/o reading any manual.

fwiw, that signal seems automatically to show up on inputs 3+4.

i haven't taken that path any further, yet, vis vis routing of processed/unprocessed signal.

dt / spltrcl
__________________
david torn / splattercell

Last edited by splatt; 09-29-2009 at 11:05 AM. Reason: edited for spelling: thanks, heretic!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-28-2009, 09:37 PM
Burgs Burgs is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Brett K - Melbourne
Posts: 1,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by splatt View Post
it would def suck, if it were true;
but, it isn't.

i recorded the full "rig" signal easily in Logic, w/o reading any manual.

fwiw, that signal seems automatically to show up on inputs 3+4.

i haven't taken that path any further, yet, vis vis routing of processed/unprocessed signal.

dt / spltrcl
Well then, I stand corrected, and in your debt, sir. I'll have to give it a go tonight.
__________________
See more.
Proof that I'm working on it.
I have endorsement agreements with Laney UK, HIWATT UK, PRS Guitars, ESP Guitars and Providence Effects, Japan.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-29-2009, 02:11 AM
splatt's Avatar
splatt splatt is offline
Gold Supporting Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burger666 View Post
Well then, I stand corrected, and in your debt, sir. I'll have to give it a go tonight.
no probs; enjoy.
dt / spltrcl
__________________
david torn / splattercell
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-01-2009, 02:45 PM
Burgs Burgs is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Brett K - Melbourne
Posts: 1,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by splatt View Post
it would def suck, if it were true;
but, it isn't.

i recorded the full "rig" signal easily in Logic, w/o reading any manual.

fwiw, that signal seems automatically to show up on inputs 3+4.

i haven't taken that path any further, yet, vis vis routing of processed/unprocessed signal.

dt / spltrcl
Humbly confirmed.

Processed signal through inputs 3 + 4, dry signal (at the same time to another Logic track) through inputs 1 + 2. Very handy, actually.
__________________
See more.
Proof that I'm working on it.
I have endorsement agreements with Laney UK, HIWATT UK, PRS Guitars, ESP Guitars and Providence Effects, Japan.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-02-2009, 08:01 AM
fr8_trane fr8_trane is offline
Supporting Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Brunswick, NJ
Posts: 5,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by splatt View Post
it would def suck, if it were true;
but, it isn't.

i recorded the full "rig" signal easily in Logic, w/o reading any manual.

fwiw, that signal seems automatically to show up on inputs 3+4.

i haven't taken that path any further, yet, vis vis routing of processed/unprocessed signal.

dt / spltrcl
How about the plugins that are supposedly bundled with 11? Are they VST or are they RTAS/AU only? Or maybe they aren't located on the hardware at all and are included with PT le.

I don't use PT and it would be a real selling point if I could use BFD lite and melodyne with reaper.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-02-2009, 09:19 AM
splatt's Avatar
splatt splatt is offline
Gold Supporting Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by fr8_trane View Post
How about the plugins that are supposedly bundled with 11? Are they VST or are they RTAS/AU only? Or maybe they aren't located on the hardware at all and are included with PT le.

I don't use PT and it would be a real selling point if I could use BFD lite and melodyne with reaper.
if any digidesign native audio interface (ie, the m-boxes) works with reaper,
then you can continue using BFD & Melodyne within reaper.

11r can still be programmed for your guitar-playing, stand-alone;
it's super-easy, fast to learn. it has knobs.

dt / spltrcl
__________________
david torn / splattercell
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-27-2010, 01:27 PM
greenwall greenwall is offline
New Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Hey, just need some clarification -- in order to use the 11r in a foreign DAW, does it need to be your audio interface? Or can it run as a AU or VST plugin?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-27-2010, 01:40 PM
crazyForce crazyForce is offline
Supporting Member
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern tip of the gorgeous Wasatch mountain range
Posts: 809
No it doesn't need to be the interface for a different DAW. You can send any of its outputs to your other interface for output of a mono Eleven Rack dry and mono processed guitar signal or a stereo processed signal.

The 11R is hardware only, and does not come with the Eleven software plug in.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-27-2010, 05:49 PM
greenwall greenwall is offline
New Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
thanks CF. I was under the impression (see the second post of this thread) that you could use the USB connection for the audio path. The only way I know how to do something like that is if you use the USB device as your audio interface (in logic, for instance). Unless you are talking about using it in an aggregate device?

Or is the only way to use 11r with a non PT DAW through it's physical ins and outs (i.e. and NOT using the USB connection)?

Oh, I'm talking about use on a Mac.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-27-2010, 07:29 PM
crazyForce crazyForce is offline
Supporting Member
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern tip of the gorgeous Wasatch mountain range
Posts: 809
Well, I can't speak authoritatively about all DAWs, but when I tried a quick and dirty demo recording a few days ago into Garage Band, the USB connection provided the processed stereo signal on outputs 3-4 just fine. I have read of others with similar results into Cubase, and Sonar (if I am remembering correctly).
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-28-2010, 07:19 AM
VaiSatchAtrucci VaiSatchAtrucci is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenwall View Post
Hey, just need some clarification -- in order to use the 11r in a foreign DAW, does it need to be your audio interface? Or can it run as a AU or VST plugin?

Thanks!
Your DAW just needs to support Core Audio Drivers and all you need is the USB connection and of course means of external audio reference. It works great in Logic Pro for instance and no need to use my Apogee Duet which I used before and still do actually for the 2 mic pre's for acoustic recording and/or simultaneous acoustic / vocal recording. Output 1-2 is the unprocessed signal you can record for re-amping and output 3-4 as mentioned by crazyForce is the processed signal. This link describes how to get that going albeit not extremely technical in nature:

http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread...aisatchatrucci
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©1999-2014, The Gear Page, LLC, Brian Scherzer
All rights reserved.
Banner Design: Chris Sileo