Become a Supporting Member


Go Back   The Gear Page > The Gear > Amps and Cabs

Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2011, 12:31 AM
docmh docmh is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Forestville, CA
Posts: 327
Question Brown Note D'lite 22/33 owners help?

I just bought a used D'lite 22/33 amp that was built from a kit. It came with 6V6 tubes. I want to try it with 6L6's. The Brown Note support is lousy, I can't get any info from e-mail or phone calls. On the BN web site it says there is a toggle switch to switch between 6V6's and 6L6's and then rebias.
My amp has no toggle. I see no toggle switch for that on BN layouts on their forum. Can the amp tubes be interchanged with just a bias? Do I have a 22/33 amp or just a 22 watt? Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2011, 12:53 AM
roflo roflo is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: San Diego,Ca
Posts: 333
I wish i could help you with your question but i am not sure either i have just left my 6v6 in...........i love my Brown Note D'Lite22, just a wonderful sounding amp...........last year i wanted to add a channel selecter swith and an fx loop and add tube reverb, i emailed them 4 different times in a 6-7 week period and never heard a word............i know Moss does great work but not communicating with your own clients is just bad business........hopefully you will get better results than i did.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2011, 03:15 AM
miamimart miamimart is offline
Supporting Member
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Just south of Superdawg
Posts: 608
I really would like a Brown Note, but for the aforementioned reasons will probably never buy one. A shame.......
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2011, 07:20 AM
Washburnmemphis Washburnmemphis is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by miamimart View Post
I really would like a Brown Note, but for the aforementioned reasons will probably never buy one. A shame.......
+1. It was stories like these that convinced me to go with Ceriatone.
No regrets.
__________________
Good Deals with: SuperReverb2, RC2, stbhorn, RockStarNick, outtahear, reeves amps

Hanlon's Razor: "Never attribute to malice that which can be adequately explained by stupidity."
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-22-2011, 07:30 AM
jjp jjp is offline
Banned
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by Washburnmemphis View Post
+1. It was stories like these that convinced me to go with Ceriatone.
No regrets.
+2 I was seriously thinking of getting one. On to the next maybe.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-22-2011, 08:53 AM
flcmcya flcmcya is offline
Silver Supporting Member
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 1,632
Hey docmh.

As yours was a kit that part of the deal was obviously left out .......

There are some pretty knowledgable folks on that forum ....I believe swapping a couple resisors and a rebias will get you there.....

Fortunately mine has the switch .......but I haven't tried the 6l6's in it as I had a 44ode already with them.

A lot of support at Amp Garage from these folks as well .......a quick post will get you an answer .....

If that doesn't work pm me and I can pop the lid on mine.

Last edited by flcmcya; 01-22-2011 at 09:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-22-2011, 01:01 PM
phalanges phalanges is offline
Supporting Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 445
If you want to use 6L6 types with an 8 ohm speaker load, all you do is click to the 16 ohm
speaker output and re-bias to 32ma or so.
The OT is an 8k 35w Vibrolux type that reflects 4k with 6L6's.
Great tweakable amp that can cover a lot of tonal ground.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-22-2011, 04:08 PM
docmh docmh is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Forestville, CA
Posts: 327
Thanks flcmya and phalanges. A couple replies on the ampgarage confirmed what you said. I can rest easier now. Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-14-2011, 11:30 PM
arnie65 arnie65 is offline
Supporting Member
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 462
The switch for 22/33 watts is under the amp itself, you might need to remove the back cover. (I'm assuming you got a combo). If you need help rebiasing give me a shout.








Cheers, Arnie...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-02-2011, 06:14 PM
lusn lusn is offline
Supporting Member
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: west of the Cubs
Posts: 50
Same amp- 6v6s bias?

I have the exact same setup- what should 6V6s be biased to?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-02-2011, 08:44 PM
docmh docmh is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Forestville, CA
Posts: 327
I sold the amp, but I biased 6V6's at 18 - 22 mv's.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-03-2011, 03:53 AM
lusn lusn is offline
Supporting Member
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: west of the Cubs
Posts: 50
What was your reason for selling? What were your likes/dislikes?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©1999-2014, The Gear Page, LLC, Brian Scherzer
All rights reserved.
Banner Design: Chris Sileo