Become a Supporting Member


Go Back   The Gear Page > Instruments > The Small Company Luthiers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-09-2011, 05:57 PM
Ud Reks Ud Reks is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,612
Huh... Is this Craigslist Artinger for real?

http://sfbay.craigslist.org/sby/msg/2527976382.html

Wish I lived in the area. Something tells me there's a catch
__________________
Guitars: Epiphone Elitist LP, Fender Strat Time Machine '66 Firemist Amps: Vintage Sound 85 Combo, Fender Champion 600, Reason 4x12 Effects etc.: MXR CAE Wah, Paul C. Timmy, Skreddy Zero, Skreddy Lunar Module, Trombetta Bone Machine, Fromel Shape EQ, Strymon Timeline. Lollars, Biltoft CC, Greenbacks, Fane AXA Alnico
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-09-2011, 06:00 PM
KissTone KissTone is offline
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pgh., PA
Posts: 1,353
Email and see where it goes. It's got to be bogus, but sometimes it's entertaining to read what scammers say in their pathetic effort to snag you.

Then again, maybe it is legit . . .
__________________
CS '65 Strat or CS R8 LP ---> WilsonWah > '69MkII > FD2 > Timmy > MLJr. > TU2 > RC3 ---> SFDR
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2011, 06:09 PM
stashman stashman is online now
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: tampa, FL
Posts: 600
That picture is stolen from a current ebay auction not is the SF area, and for $4k.
__________________
Good Deals: I have too many to list in my signature anymore, so please click on this link and scroll down the page to find my post with my (pretty long) list of TGP good traders
http://www.thegearpage.net/board/sho...1150413&page=4
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-09-2011, 07:46 PM
The Eristic The Eristic is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cartersville, GA
Posts: 1,272
Pretty popular scam, it seems. I once emailed a seller with a Ruck Concert for $5000, who, after a few mails back and forth, turned out to be in Romania. I dropped out immediately, dug around the web, and found that very guitar in a completed eBay listing from Florida for $9800. Seen quite a few similar listings since, so always do your research!
__________________
Be Ye Not Lost Among Precepts of Order...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2011, 02:06 AM
simplecomplexity simplecomplexity is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 999
i hate those fake CListers...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-10-2011, 05:45 AM
mwhy mwhy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 762
I emailed him -- here's the response:

"On 8/9/11 8:10 PM, "Charles K. Mcmaster" <anselham45@googlemail.com> wrote:

Hello

The item is available and it is in perfect conditions but I am out of state now because I work with an advertising company and I'm traveling a lot. Now I am in England with them.I must have to shoot a commercial here that will appear on T.V in 6 months I think... This is not a problem because I know a very good shipping company who can help us with this transaction.I worked with them in the past and everything was fine.The fees are a little bit small like another companies and I will pay them.You can check their website on www.parcelforce.com <http://www.parcelforce.com> for you can see. Also you have more ways to pay like another companies. If you are interested please let me know for I can tell you the details.

Thank you"

Hmmm ... doesn't sound like a scam to me!

Marc
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-10-2011, 06:33 AM
serviviente7 serviviente7 is offline
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 1,107
Dang! Report that thief!
__________________
Good deals with: aziltz,jimshine,connor117,mueller,smothocean,gibby fan,ripley156,padols,bcduke2,suhrcrazy,johncovach, uberschall, dmbluesguy, elrostar, frankencat, this1smine, glenhb, shredtrash to name a few.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-10-2011, 07:57 AM
Brian Porter Brian Porter is offline
Silver Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 231
I had the same thing when someone listed a suhr for $800. Got the same email back.
__________________
Porter Pickups: Custom Hand Wound Pickups.
http://www.porterpickups.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-10-2011, 07:59 AM
tooter007 tooter007 is offline
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 433
It's in perfect "conditions".....nice grammar and dead giveaway.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-10-2011, 08:06 AM
NoNoise NoNoise is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 249
This is why I don't use CL anymore...
__________________
Past Good Deals
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-10-2011, 03:56 PM
Doug's Tubes Doug's Tubes is offline
Gold Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Long Island
Posts: 5,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoNoise View Post
This is why I don't use CL anymore...
CL is for local deals, I've bought and sold plenty of stuff through CL. Never had a problem.
__________________
Doug's Tubes
http://www.dougstubes.com

And if you give me: weed, whites, and wine
And you show me a sign I'll be willin', to be movin.....Little Feat:Lowell George.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-10-2011, 04:40 PM
Lance Lance is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 5,433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug's Tubes View Post
CL is for local deals, I've bought and sold plenty of stuff through CL. Never had a problem.
Same here. I have done at least a dozen deals locally on CL, without one single issue.
__________________
Guitars: Rasmus S102, 2008 AS Tele, '87 AS Strat, Ibanez AJD-91 semi-hollow.
Amps: Two Rock Gainmaster 35 Head, RedPlate Rock Machine/JBL D130F cab, '89 Mark III blue combo, '76 SFTR, Tweaker 15 Head/10" GB cab, ZT Club 12.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-10-2011, 04:47 PM
narad narad is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 906
Yea, really can't blame craigslist if you're silly enough to fall for the ridiculous business arrangements.
__________________

Good Significant ($1k+) Deals with: Quinny (x2), stratplusguy, Roodboy, Matte, ::fred::, niersbach, Hellhound Gtrs, Broken Cord
WTB any time (PM me!): Koll 7 string, Sakashta solidbody, Huber Orca.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-10-2011, 04:51 PM
mwhy mwhy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 762
I replied to the earlier post (see above), and here's the second reply:

"Hello

I use Parcel Force for the deal.I need your full name and address for I can start* the shipping to you and they will send you an invoice in which they will mention all the transaction details The shipping is free. The transaction is pretty simple : you will receive the invoice from them and this mean that I sent the unit and after you receive this invoice you must send the money to their agent . Immediately after the transfer will be checked you will have the item. The money will stay on hold until you decide if you keep the item or not. If the unit has a problem or something that is wrong you will have 10 days to send it back and you will receive the money back. Everything is through Parcel Force and Craiglist for it can be secured for both of us.You have insurance from them and you are covered. Let me know.


Thank's"

Do people actually fall for these scams?!?! Beware ..
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-10-2011, 05:22 PM
Doug's Tubes Doug's Tubes is offline
Gold Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Long Island
Posts: 5,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lance View Post
Same here. I have done at least a dozen deals locally on CL, without one single issue.
My last CL deal was the purchase of a beautiful 2010 Gibson ES335 dot reissue for $1600. Sold the '66 I'm loving the reissue.

I've hunted down a pair of Klipsch Forte II's on CL, who needs ebay?
__________________
Doug's Tubes
http://www.dougstubes.com

And if you give me: weed, whites, and wine
And you show me a sign I'll be willin', to be movin.....Little Feat:Lowell George.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2013, The Gear Page, LLC, Brian Scherzer
All rights reserved.
Header Graphic by NetThink 21