Become a Supporting Member


Go Back   The Gear Page > Instruments > Guitars in General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-20-2011, 11:53 PM
thefuzz7219 thefuzz7219 is offline
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 167
I want to believe this is real...

I'm assuming this is fake. Anybody here knowledgeable about Ricks and able to confirm its authenticity? Has anybody dealt with this site before?

http://thetopguitars.com/products/20...lo-Guitar.html
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2011, 11:58 PM
guitarjb44 guitarjb44 is offline
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 94
Fake. Definitely.

-Joe
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-20-2011, 11:59 PM
DGTCrazy's Avatar
DGTCrazy DGTCrazy is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 9,755
Fffffaaaaakkkkkeeeee!
__________________
My name is Herb....and I'm a Moderator!
Music: www.rumorsmarin.com
www.tungngruve.net
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-21-2011, 12:00 AM
thefuzz7219 thefuzz7219 is offline
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 167
Well I can dream...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-21-2011, 12:09 AM
dvilla76 dvilla76 is offline
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: SoFlo
Posts: 615
Fugazey.

Isn't it convenient how they managed to omit the headstock face - no legitimate advert would do that.

Caveat emptor

D
__________________
Good Deals: samhambone, AdamRandall, bugguts, bunnygang, beth, Jim777, djd35de, megaboogie, rockinlespaul, gbsmusic, zeppelin, guitarua, bluesdoc, Insignificant1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-21-2011, 12:14 AM
Gray Gray is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 195
There's no part of that which looked legitimate, that tailpiece is hilariously bad.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-21-2011, 12:45 AM
IPLAYLOUD IPLAYLOUD is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 2,996
Oh, man...I wanted that double neck Ibanez Jem for $460. :'-(
__________________
Life is too short to only play Black, White, and Sunburst Guitars.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-21-2011, 05:11 AM
wingwalker wingwalker is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 6,510
Good lord, it's not even a good fake!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-21-2011, 07:23 AM
Baxtercat Baxtercat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: just west of Monterey, CA
Posts: 5,811
Hey, they ship w/ this handy cardboard box.
__________________
old TEAC tune
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IX7QJ6FKhgA
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-21-2011, 07:33 AM
sliberty sliberty is offline
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 773
http://www.rickenbacker.com/model.asp?model=360/12

Notice that the real deal has the R in the tailpiece turned sideways. Also the shape is very different. And the pickups are also different. Fake, fake, fake.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-21-2011, 08:52 AM
Rockledge Rockledge is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: mars
Posts: 2,975
Looks like the tuning pegs are installed differently as well.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-21-2011, 08:54 AM
sksmith66 sksmith66 is offline
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gray View Post
that tailpiece is hilariously bad.

it's not even in the same ball park
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-21-2011, 09:38 AM
scottlr scottlr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Born & raised in Texas; stranded in Iowa
Posts: 20,676
Looks closer to an old Kustom Ric knockoff. And I'd go with the Kustom over this POS.
__________________
Scott
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-21-2011, 10:26 AM
Frankee Frankee is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Coronado, Califas
Posts: 12,446
__________________
Help an inner-city kid discover music. Donate musical instruments to the Logan Heights Barrio-Station
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-21-2011, 11:03 AM
Aran Aran is offline
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 1,752
Personally I care little for anyone buying something which is a counterfeit. If they have a fake Logo of the original manufacture on it it's a counterfeit. I see these things on CL and eBay all the time where the seller is trying to pass em off as real.

If you knowingly buy counterfeits then you're part of the problem. Gilt by association. Again, it's only counterfeits I have issues with. Agile etc are fair game imho.
__________________
06R9 | 07Nocaster

Good Deals: musickbox, divus5, mmolteratx, ozzy 24, clicktone, Mindcrime, 90proof, greg777, pnksntdead, CrackTheSkye, pdodge77, samm57 and Braciola.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2013, The Gear Page, LLC, Brian Scherzer
All rights reserved.
Header Graphic by NetThink 21