Become a Supporting Member


Go Back   The Gear Page > The Gear > Digital & Modeling Gear

Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-02-2011, 09:39 PM
Will Chen Will Chen is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 4,951
Odd (yet kinda cool) POD HD500 behavior... [updated with clip]

Try this:
  1. place any amp model before the parallel split
  2. set the pan for both sides of the parallel chain to center
  3. play your guitar for a couple minutes
  4. add any eq except the mid focus to the upper chain, use the default settings
  5. play our guitar for a couple minutes

Are you hearing what I'm hearing? The high end is smoothed out significantly. Depending on the model it can kinda sound be a little on the darker side but it really tames down that squelchy (inter-modulation dist?) thing that happens in the high end. Really extends a couple models usable tonal ranges significantly. Any ideas as to why this affects the sound in the way it does? Comb filtering? Cool unexpected "feature".

UPDATE - Here the clip in this post: http://www.thegearpage.net/board/sho...7&postcount=13

Last edited by Will Chen; 10-04-2011 at 08:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-02-2011, 10:53 PM
jaxn slim jaxn slim is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashvillistan
Posts: 349
Wow. I'll have to try that out later this week when I get a chance.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2011, 03:58 AM
anot anot is offline
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 30
Hi,

if you dial in a EQ in an empty patch, you can see LP filtering (about -6dB at 20kHz).

Have a look at pragrams like Scope, SweepGen, SPAN ...

You can explore the tone-stacks, EQs, BIAS ....
(yes - you can see crossover distortion [No Cab!])

example: PEQ Freq: 90% is ~ 3.5kHz / 30% is ~310Hz ...

ao
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2011, 08:19 AM
Will Chen Will Chen is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 4,951
Interesting, so all the eq's have a built in low pass? the odd thing though is if you move the eq out of the slip chin to a post position, the effect is nowhere near as pronounced if at all. And of course if the channels are panned hard left/right it doesn't have the same impact. I'll have to try muting one channel tonight and see if I get the same response.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-03-2011, 12:45 PM
Pietro Pietro is offline
2-Voice Guitar Junkie
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Maineville, OH
Posts: 13,492
I am noticing such a subtle difference that it's not worth it, to me, to assign an effect for this. I feel like it gives me a teeny bit more "mid" is all I'm hearing.

Help me out, what am I missing...?
__________________
LOVE YOUR AUDIENCE GTRS: Tom Anderson Crowdster + 2, Hollow CT Atom, T Classic Wechter Other Toys: FBT, Fishman, Line 6, xotic, Lava, Peterson, Planet Waves, Electro-Harmonix, Yamaha, This1sMyne, etc...
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCJek View Post
You are cool and I want to be you.
Electric & Acoustic AT THE SAME TIME
Electric AND Acoustic With the Variax
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-03-2011, 01:20 PM
Will Chen Will Chen is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 4,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pietro View Post
I am noticing such a subtle difference that it's not worth it, to me, to assign an effect for this. I feel like it gives me a teeny bit more "mid" is all I'm hearing.

Help me out, what am I missing...?
Really...maybe my unit has an issue? I'll try to post a with/without clip tonight (though it will be pretty late). When I run it (note the pan settings and eq placement) it has a pretty prominent affect on the high end. Oh, yeah. I was monitoring via phones with this so maybe output summing lessons the effect? Don't know more experimentation tonight.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-03-2011, 03:39 PM
Pietro Pietro is offline
2-Voice Guitar Junkie
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Maineville, OH
Posts: 13,492
Can you maybe post your patch, too? There might be something else there.
__________________
LOVE YOUR AUDIENCE GTRS: Tom Anderson Crowdster + 2, Hollow CT Atom, T Classic Wechter Other Toys: FBT, Fishman, Line 6, xotic, Lava, Peterson, Planet Waves, Electro-Harmonix, Yamaha, This1sMyne, etc...
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCJek View Post
You are cool and I want to be you.
Electric & Acoustic AT THE SAME TIME
Electric AND Acoustic With the Variax
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-03-2011, 03:55 PM
Will Chen Will Chen is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 4,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pietro View Post
Can you maybe post your patch, too? There might be something else there.
Sure, but I tried it in a couple different scenarios one from scratch. Enabling disabling the EQ changed the tone significantly when in the upper loop. Move the EQ out of the loop and the tone really isn't changed much at all. Honestly, if its a problem with my unit, I don't want it fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-03-2011, 04:56 PM
dbun dbun is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Chen View Post
Really...maybe my unit has an issue?
maybe try reflashing the unit??
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-03-2011, 09:06 PM
overunderdrive overunderdrive is offline
Banned
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: sitting in front of a computer
Posts: 1,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Chen View Post
Try this:
  1. place any amp model before the parallel split
  2. set the pan for both sides of the parallel chain to center
  3. play your guitar for a couple minutes
  4. add any eq except the mid focus to the upper chain, use the default settings
  5. play our guitar for a couple minutes

the only thing I'm noticing is that after the eq is applied, somehow the guitar went from being my guitar to being 'our' guitar...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-03-2011, 09:13 PM
atquinn atquinn is offline
Supporting Member
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Mineola, NY
Posts: 5,805
__________________
"There's nothing happening to you that means anything at all"
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-03-2011, 09:57 PM
Trag3dyAndy Trag3dyAndy is offline
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 40
I tried this today. (I was curious) and it worked as described.. I actually like it a lot. I saved it on my main metal preset. I turn the EQ off when playing at bedroom levels, but when I turn it up, I turn the EQ on to tame the highs. I'm really glad you found this. BTW I have the Desktop (bean) version.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-03-2011, 10:11 PM
Will Chen Will Chen is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 4,951
Ok boys, here's my clip. If you can't hear a difference, best let someone else dial in your patches. You are hearing 3 different amp models with nothing else in the patches except an amp and then and amp and eq. In each of the 3 sets, first you hear an amp model from the HD500 with no other effects with the parallel chain panned to center. Next, a graphic eq in 2 clips and a parametric in the other is inserted into the left chain with no adjustments made. There is a significant "smoothing" of the high end. My questions to you is does your HD500 behave in a similar manner.

http://soundcloud.com/willchen28/hd500-oddity
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-04-2011, 03:21 AM
anot anot is offline
Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 30
Hi Will Chen,

if you set the EQ in one of the parallel chains then it works like a
"band-stop filter" at around 8kHz. (in addition to the LP filter)

(white noise -> guitar in [Class A15 - Cab off] -> USB -> notebook -> Voxengo SPAN)

ao

p.s. HD500 needs 0.0625 ms for EQ - right?
p.p.s. add another EQ -> band-stop filter at ~4kHz, ~12kHz and ~18.5kHz

Last edited by anot; 10-04-2011 at 04:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-04-2011, 08:20 AM
Will Chen Will Chen is offline
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 4,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by anot View Post
Hi Will Chen,

if you set the EQ in one of the parallel chains then it works like a
"band-stop filter" at around 8kHz. (in addition to the LP filter)

(white noise -> guitar in [Class A15 - Cab off] -> USB -> notebook -> Voxengo SPAN)

ao

p.s. HD500 needs 0.0625 ms for EQ - right?
p.p.s. add another EQ -> band-stop filter at ~4kHz, ~12kHz and ~18.5kHz
Very interesting! If the HD500 needs .0625 ms to process EQ, then I suppose what's happening is a textbook comb filter. Might need to experiment with some other effects similarly to see what happens. Now, I do not recall the GT-10 acting this way perhaps due to its different (superior) stereo routing implementation. Perhaps Boss calculated the max processing latency and applied it constantly rather than have different effects affect the amount of latency. Anyway, cool "feature" which I hope isn't fixed with a future update...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©1999-2014, The Gear Page, LLC, Brian Scherzer
All rights reserved.
Header Graphic by NetThink 21