Search results

1. P

VIBRATO

When I started playing I wanted to emulate Eric Clapton's Cream-era vibrato. I could get it sounding OK pulling a string down, but pushing upwards and trying to apply vibrato was unnatural and sounded bad. I kept at it however and gradually it came.
  2. P

Best vacuum cleaners for families with young kids

'Golden Brown' by the Stranglers has some nice odd time segments. The intro is 3-3-3-4, so I guess that makes it in 13, and is a reasonable response to the famous line "You can't groove in 13, m*****f****r! That's why you broke!". It seems the composer, Dave Greenfield, was inspired by Dave...
  3. P

Albums that may not been as good if it wasn't for the Producer

Anybody who’s been through the process of recording an album will know the enormous importance of having a good producer, someone with vision and the technical knowledge and persuasive skill to make it happen.
  4. P

Jagged Little Pill was absolutely made by the production. Producer was Glen Ballard.
  5. P

I totally agree. The sounds, playing and arrangements are spectacularly good, even more so because there is no overplaying. The album hangs together beautifully, and the songs, which I don’t find particularly outstanding on their own, are made to sound like perfect gems.
  6. P

The Heaviest ( in terms of weight ) amp you owned and the misfortune of lugging it around ?

The heaviest amp I have now is a Marshall Bluesbreaker combo. It's ridiculously heavy by modern standards and huge, too.
  7. P

JOLENE

Jolene is a rare song, one that has moved from where it could be seen as corny or kitsch to the point where it's beyond criticism. Anybody and everybody can cover it, as shown in the posts above. It always gets a great reaction if you play it live, and the guitar part is very cool. I wish there...
  8. P

Minor Turnarounds

Moanin’ also has one of the great shuffle rhythms!
  9. P

I put a 5U4GB rectifier tube in Super Reverb Reissue...