Search results

1. L

tube vs solid state power amp w/ modeler

I'm glad you guys agree with me. ;) Post #21
  2. L

Play for the song = proof that the guitar is on its way out

The idea of "playing for the song" has been around for as long as I can remember. And I'm not exactly young. :dunno
  3. L

Tips wanted: Helping Bandmates to write songs

This reminds me of an anecdote from years ago. I started writing tunes from a young age. One day a friend brought a keyboard to my house that had midi recording capabilities because he wanted me to help him learn how it worked. So I recorded a small improvised melody on it. He asked me what that...
  4. L

tube vs solid state power amp w/ modeler

I'm no expert but if I'm not mistaken, the impedance curve of a speaker (driver+cab) affects a tube amp's frequency response more than it does a SS amp because tube amps usually have a higher output impedance. I'll now yield to our amp gurus. :)
  5. L

How to do a basic (satin) guitar finish - DIY -without sprayers, buffing, etc.???

It isn't the hardest finish and shows wear where a pick guard would be, but I don't know if you can expect a very hard finish from any wipe-on finish, though I've never tried tru oil. Tommy Rosamond at USACG used to recommend it as a DIY solution to finish their unfinished necks, to protect from...
  6. L

How to do a basic (satin) guitar finish - DIY -without sprayers, buffing, etc.???

I used Minwax Wipe-on poly satin finish on this S520 body.
  7. L

Internal speaker cable. Yep.

I'd recommend a Mallard if you want a bit of quack.
  8. L

Neck twisting on a quarter sawn maple neck with quarter sawn cap?

The first neck I ever bought from USACG was flat sawn maple with ebony fretboard and it developed a bad twist. Later I ordered a couple quatersawn necks with pau ferro fretboards and they're still perfect years later. Go figure.
  9. L

This pedal actually frightens me... seriously, I'm not kidding.

This pedal is the Greatest Of ____ All____Time!