Search results

1. A

Tell me about the Ampeg VT 40

https://www.aikenamps.com/index.php/technical-q-a Scroll down the page. There is a section on picking up radio signals. Make sure you pick up some spare 6k11 tubes. They're not too difficult to find but they aren't made any more and that's your midrange circuit - which is where the magic is in...
  2. A

Replacement suggestions for 7027A

The JJ's should be fine. I've been running them in my V4's and VT40's for several years. No issues.
  3. A

W.A.S.P 2019

I think he's been on guitar for a while.
  4. A

We owe the Monkees an apology!

Eight pages and no mention of Clarence Walker?
  5. A

Are guitarists more particular than bassists regarding authentic build for vintage favorites?

I've been playing bass almost as long as I've been playing guitar. I really don't care for Gibson basses. I don't like the sound or the feel of most of them. The only vintage Gibson I've ever played that I thought was worth the money was my buddy's old Triumph. That is a great bass. Other than...
  6. A

Dual showman reverb Bass rig idea: nuts?

I run an old dual Showman sometimes through and 8x10". It's got plenty of power and headroom for loud gigs. As walterw said - get a better cab (probably not an 8x10") and you should be fine. A 4x10" is a good choice for a loud bar.
  7. A

BYO Dummy Load Resources?

I used those style of resistors when I built a heat sink a few years ago. No issues with them. The heat sink is a good idea.
  8. A

BYO Dummy Load Resources?

http://www.aikenamps.com/index.php/dummy-loads
  9. A

Driving cross country with guitars/gear. Safe place for motel nearish Cleveland on the 70?

There is a cluster of hotels just off the exit in Richmond, Indiana. That's the last (I think) exit before you get into Ohio. It's only a few hours to Columbus from there. I've stayed at the Best Western there a few times with a 12 passenger window van (no seats) loaded with items. The front of...
  10. A