Search results

1. headstack

Guitar cable shootout

Cable capacitance does indeed effect the reactance of the circuit, and we hear this in the high frequency spectra... Thanks to that cool display, we can even watch it in real time. Thank you!
  2. headstack

1968 Jensen C12N sounds harsh in 68 Deluxe Reverb

Ripsix, Changing your ancient cardboard jacketed 16uf 475v electrolytic filter caps will not ruin tue tone of your amp. If anything, it will improve the definition a bit by tightening the bottom end a little bit, and headroom may improve a bit. The main improvement is less hum do to lower...
  3. headstack

Mary Ford's Les Paul

Mike, Do you plan to reunite the guitar with it's proper truss rod cover?
  4. headstack

Taming The Fender Tone Master

I have a Tone Master (sticker serial numbers), and she is a bit rough in the "B" channel. After a lot of research and pouring over the schematic, I found a few things that left me wondering. One thing that looks a bit geared towards speed of manufacture, is placing the grid stopper...
  5. headstack

Suhr BPSSC system and Don Mare's

interesting that shielding with the D.M.s causes a tone change. I wonder if there is some sort of inductance introduced somehow? My guitars have Kleins, Duncans, Fralins etc. in them and I shield the entire cavity and pick plate creating a copper capsule for the electronics. The one...
  6. headstack

6-way toggle in Gibson Jimi Page Guitar?!?

I know I am dredging up a reeeaaaalllly old thread, but Stewart Macdonald sells these on their website. stewmac.com Lots of parts for building stringed instruments guys and girls!! Have fun, John Chase
  7. headstack

Home studio - cable shielding?

We know it's mostly BS, but the depth, resolution, psychoacoustic image and feel are truly top notch Les!:rotflmao Sincerely, Your crusty old brother in analog grudgingly turned digital... John Chase
  8. headstack

What's the stupidest reason you've ever been fired from a band?