• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

Search results

1. Jim Roseberry

What is the preferred interface type for an audio interface for a Windows PC in 2021?

"Overkill" depends on your expectation/application. If you want to achieve sub 4ms round-trip latency, you're not going to do that via a USB audio interface. ie: The best Thunderbolt audio interfaces yield sub 1ms total round-trip latency. That's simply not possible with a USB audio interface.
  2. Jim Roseberry

What is the preferred interface type for an audio interface for a Windows PC in 2021?

FWIW, I've been building custom PC DAWs professionally for 25+ years. When it comes to Thunderbolt, you need to know all the details (don't leave anything to chance). Thunderbolt under Windows 10 is absolutely rock-solid. You can't add a PCIe Thunderbolt controller to just any PC: Motherboard...
  3. Jim Roseberry

I've been running Thunderbolt audio interfaces under Win10 for a long while. (Apollo-8, Fireface UFX+, Quantum, and Orion Studio Synergy Core) If you know what you're doing (all details tended to), Thunderbolt audio interfaces are rock-solid under Win10.
  4. Jim Roseberry

The best USB audio interfaces yield ~4ms total round-trip latency The best Thunderbolt audio interfaces yield sub 1ms total round-trip latency Both cases are subject to the machine being able to sustain the load (glitch-free). If you're not pushing the limits of ultra low latency audio...
  5. Jim Roseberry

I've always hated PRS... but I think it might be time for one?

PRS would be a good fit... as would a Suhr Modern Pro. The Paul's Guitar suggestion above is a good one. Though the construction is significantly different, (to my ears) it can sound surprisingly similar to a LP.
  6. Jim Roseberry

So the Apple M1 is already about to be upstaged by the M1X. Would the 32 cores do any better with Logic?