Search results

1. walterw

Game Changer for Prepping Fret Slots Fast and Perfect: Micro End Mills!

i stumbled onto this idea over on frets.net, courtesy of one Mark A. Kane: you can get end mills in super-tiny sizes, like the .021"-.022" of a typical fret slot, for less than $20. they cut straight down with parallel sides and a square bottom and are just long enough to get full depth in a...
  2. walterw

Hogy's Fantastic Demo: What Seated vs Unseated Frets Sound Like

forgive me @hogy but i gotta pluck this one from the useless din of "guitars in general" and bring it over here where people will understand and appreciate it :hide2 i actually just went over some random '80s aria bass today with sprung-up frets and yeah, after clamping and wicking in the thin...
  3. walterw

Top-wrapping Difference Revealed?

maybe this video is old news but it's my first time seeing it and the results are surprising i already knew that top-wrapping (since it increased the excess string length outside nut and saddle) should result in requiring the string be pushed further across the fretboard to reach the same note...
  4. walterw

25% Nickel-Silver Fretwire! Titanium Fretwire! Who Knew?

not me! just stumbled upon this stuff made by sintoms, i didn't know it was a thing "regular" nickel-silver wire but harder than the normal 18% we all use actual titanium wire, advertised as harder than nickel-silver but softer than ss has anybody heard of or tried it?
  5. walterw

What the Heck is This? New Baggs Anthem Variation?

watching another terrific youtube vid from one "twoodfrd", an obviously excellent repair guy/luthier from canada, and in the process he whips out this thing for half a second and says almost nothing about it: that's very obviously an LR baggs Anthem but it's not a version i've ever seen...
  6. walterw

Stainless Fret tang-cutting, Cheap Fast and Easy!