Search results

1. D

JJ 6V6 tubes

I used a set of the JJ6V6s in my old Fender HRDx. They really improved the clean channel on that amp (I never used the OD channel). Just gave it a more pleasant sound.
  2. D

I need a medium power amp with a very very tight bass when overdriven

yeah, that "loose" low end is a characteristic of an overdriven power section. To me tight bass response = Marshall. On the cheap, a DSL50 could work very nice. You could also look into the 18 watt or 36 watt clones made by several different companies. I have no experience with those though.
  3. D

Starter amp for around $100.

+1 on the Valve Jr. It really does sound great. Especially with single coils.
  4. D

alternatives to a DRRI $1000 or under?

:agree There's a silverface right now on Craigslist near me for $850. Actually there's a blackface with a replacement speaker and non-original cabinet for $1000.
  5. D

Buying an amp without playing it first

I bought a Mesa Nomad 45 1x12 combo on ebay because i was all hyped up on Mesas. Found out the hard way that Mesas just aren't for me.
  6. D

AC30 Custom Classic Users- Need Quick Help ASAP For A Show

How are you hooking up the A/B box? the two guitars in and then one line to the amp? How is the effects loop involved? I would think the best way to do this would be to plug one guitar (Tele?) into the normal channel and the other (LP?) into the top boost channel. That way you could eq each...
  7. D

Anyone NOT like the Egnater Renegade?? Any thoughts and experiences welcome!

Plug one into a tube amp (especially an already cooking tube amp), turn the drive all the way down, and turn the level all the way up. Do all of this while playing in a band context and not by yourself. You'll figure it out
  8. D

Head and Cab for church usage

:agree
  9. D

Marshall Class 5 Head help required