Search results

1. Jess 1971

Recording my guitars dry. They always sound flat to my questionable ear

In addition to all of the great advice that's already presented here, I'd suggest hitting your cabs with multiple different mics. When I track guitars for rock, I use a low-wattage Marshall turned up pretty high, and then I close mic with a Beyer M88 dynamic mic and a Beyer M160 ribbon. Sort...
  2. Jess 1971

Recorded Using Apogee Elements and Reaper

I recorded a five-song EP, all done at home using Reaper and an Apogee Elements. Spent a lot of time fine-tuning the guitar sounds this time, working to get the right mix of fuzz and gain on my recorded tracks. Any/all feedback is welcome:
  3. Jess 1971

Session Guitarist

Thank you! Aaron really nailed the solo. He also banged it out for me in less than a day too, which is just incredible to have that much talent. (I think I'm an ok guitarist myself, but it would have taken me weeks to come up with a solo that was maybe half as good as the one he recorded for me.)
  4. Jess 1971

Session Guitarist

Thank you so much! Much appreciated. For what it's worth, all of my music was recorded at home on my MacBook Pro using Reaper as my DAW and an Apogee Elements interface. However, a friend of mine is a professional recording/mixing engineer, so he handles all the mixing duties. Thanks for...
  5. Jess 1971

Session Guitarist

If anyone is interested, a fellow TGPer @AaC tracked this guitar solo for me, and it turned out amazing! New EP just came out today:
  6. Jess 1971

Thanks, everyone, for listening! As I mentioned, I recorded this all on Reaper using my Apogee Elements, but I also used a Behringer ADA8200 for extra inputs when I tracked drums. My friend Greg then mixed everything in Protools and made it sound like I knew what I was doing : )
  7. Jess 1971

Yes! Greg mixed the whole thing, but it was mastered by Andy Vandette. Greg is a good friend of mine too--great guy, amazing at what he does!
  8. Jess 1971