1,000$ Worth of gear.returns anyone?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Drewchav, Feb 2, 2015.

1. Drewchav

Drewchav Member

I recently spent over 1,000 at guitar center. I bought a gibson sg 70's tribute, a GH100L laney head, and a 4x12 1960A cabinet. So I demo'd the head on a doffering cab since I ordered some of the stuff offline. When I had all the gear at home. The sound was not absolutely awful, but I wasnt pleased. I'm looking for a really warm high gain amp that has plenty of distortion so I don't need pedals. Something really bass like... Doesn't seem like there are a lot of ways to dial this laney but the gain sounds choppy and scratchy and the bass hardly makes any difference to warm it up. I spent a lot of time at guitar center since I am a serious musician and am searching for my ide set up. I've had to go in a **** ton to order parts and this equipment with the guys and I'm buddies with some of them but damn. Should I feel bad going to return the amp and cab? It's not what I'm looking for. But it's hard to get affordable AND good. The guitar is great and sounds awesome through my fender. Any advice about GC relations and also what steps you guys take when spending **** tons of money and also what you think I'd be happy with. Are there any affordable tube Orange heads over 15 watts. Any help is appreciated a lot.

2. Rockyrollercat

Rockyrollercat Member

If you don't like it return it and spend a **** ton on something else.

RRC

3. lostpoet2

lostpoet2 Supporting Member

Definitely take back the amp and cab and try some Oranges in the store.

4. trailrun100s

trailrun100s Member

This...return is and spend a **** tonne on something else...But bring your guitar next time to better have an idea how things will sound. Spend a **** tonne of time trying stuff so you get it right :)

5. Drewchav

Drewchav Member