11's on a PRS?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by squeally dan, Aug 30, 2006.

1. squeally dan

squeally dan Member

I have a PRS I have been suing for several years. I am thinking of changing the 10's that are on it now to 11's. I almost did this a few yeras ago and had a tech tell me that PRS's "do better" with 9's or 10's. THe singer in my band has us tuning down 1/2 step now and the tens are too flabby for my taste. I think the 11's will sound better also. ANybody have any expereince with this? DO I need to take it to atech and have it "st up for 11's" or can I just put them on and check the intonation?

THANKS!

2. waxnsteel

waxnsteel Member

I put 11's on all my electrics. I've never had to adjust the PRS bridges. I do better with 11's. I play so much acoustic, I need a little resistance, or I tend over-squeeze the hell out of chords.

3. mesaspeedlab

mesaspeedlab Member

the only time I could get my PRS to stay in tune or intonate was with 11s....not bashing PRS, just my experience. This was with a SAS and Singlecut, both with the floating trem :AOK

4. nek

nek Member

The string slots in the nut may bind with 11's. A tech will have all the specialized files necessary to open them up. He also provides a butt to kick if the work goes wrong.

5. squeally dan

squeally dan Member

If I put 11's on and they work, do I need to do anything with the nut. Is it possible that the 11's may already fit it? In other words will I be able to tell if the 11's don't fit the nut? I would rather not have another man touching my nut.:eek:

6. waxnsteel

waxnsteel Member

I didn't have to widen the nut slots on my McCartys.

7. squeally dan

squeally dan Member

If they aren't wide enough will hte string actually not fit in to the slot?

8. Barefoot

Barefoot Senior Member

Everyone else pretty much covered it.

No adverse issues regarding 11's related to tone, intonation or playability.

Nuts will have to be reslotted to accept the larger stings.