18 watts with Powerscaling

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Ziggy Stardust, Jan 14, 2008.

1. Ziggy Stardust

Ziggy Stardust Member

I'm considerin investing in an 18 Watts amp, and hopefully get one with powerscaling. I'm kinda new to this powerscaling consept. If I've understood it correctly you adjust the wattage of the amp?

Sounds rather sweet. Will it be possible to cranck my amp at bedroom level?

I've so far only found two of these amps:

Reeves Amp Custom 18

Suhr Badger Amp

Anyone has any experience with one of these amps? I think they both sound pretty sweet. They're about at the same price level $1600-1800 USD. Seems like you must pay that price to get that amp.

I've considered Fender amps, and just run it with a RAT or something, but I really want the opportunity to cranck my amp. Which will be almost never with a Fender combo. And you'll miss the great warm plexi-sound, even though you'll not get the great crunchy tone of a Fender dying. :p
    I guess both sounds are accessible with some pedals ;)

So does any of you have experiences with these amps? Or other 18 watts amp with powerscaling?

Please feel free to mention other 18 watt-amps with powerscaling.

2. Drowned Rabbit

Drowned Rabbit Black Beauty Beats Burst

I just picked up an 18 watt Aiken Intruder with a built-in
    attenuater. I prefer these to an amp with Master Volume
    for 3AM bedroom playing. I don't have any experience
    with the two amps you mentioned, but they probably do
    the job very well.

3. mooreamps

mooreamps Senior Member

These amps use a techique of varying the plate voltage on the power tubes to reduce the power output. On the amps I build, my circuit uses a techique of varying the plate current through the power tubes. I'm sure either of the other two amps would work ok for you.

-g

4. BBQLS1

BBQLS1 Member

There are quite a few 18 watt builders out there. Make sure you look around a bit!

I've built a few 18 watters for myself.

5. Stevoreen