Sold 1962 Gibson SG Special

JDJ

EDIT on 2/28/2021 -- Thank you for everyone's interest, but this guitar is SOLD pending receipt of funds!

If it happens to go back up on the market for any reason, then I'll let everyone who made inquiries know. Thanks again! :)

1962 Gibson SG Special for sale. $2,495 or best offer. I’m in North Carolina.

I first acquired this SG in 1989 in Santa Barbara, CA. I was a student there and it was my first real guitar. At the time, it had a poorly-repaired heel crack (about 5/8” in length but not all the way through) and a partial refret. I had the shop put a Bigsby on which had “Gibson” on it. The original bridge was gone and someone had put an ABR bridge on it before I got it. It also had Sperzel tuners on it. This guitar followed me to Berkeley while in school.

I recorded with this guitar and had it until 1994. I sold it in Atlanta, GA while in grad school. I came across it again in 2014 but didn’t buy it. I then found it again in a shop in California and purchased it in 2018. I was always able to remember the serial number of this guitar, and so it made it easy to find.

When I got this SG back, someone had gone through a lot of trouble to restore it while maintaining its historical character. The heel crack had been expertly repaired and it’s solid. The Bigsby was gone and a lightning bridge was installed. And the original-style tuners had been installed. You can see in the photos the holes for the Bigsby and the dowels fitted into the where the prior tailpiece for the ABR bridge was located. Finally, the current tailpiece studs are TonePros and are locking.

I installed RS Guitarworks super pots, Emerson paper-in-oil tone caps, a treble bleed capacitor, and put a Switchcraft jack in it. The original pickup selector switch is in it.

So what’s original?

1. The body, neck, and fretboard
2. The P-90 pickups (yeah!)