1964 Fender Princeton 6G2: restoration or hot rod??

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by Ellery, May 26, 2015.

1. Ellery

Ellery Member

Many years ago I bought a small practice guitar amp off a friend, for maybe sixty bucks. It worked fine, but was a cheap compromise; small, old, no distortion channel, not the heavy metal monster that I wanted. It would hold me over until I could get rid of it and get a real one. But as years passed I started playing bass and that found itself on the back burner.

Recently, 15+ years later, I felt it was time to make a decision to either fix it up or let it go. Inspecting it, I found a tube schematic inside with numbers stamped on it. I looked these up on the internet, and in an instant my embarrassment bloomed into a coveted collector's item: it was a 1964 Fender Princeton Blackface 6G2, built in September in Fullerton, California, just blocks away from where I had got it. Looking inside it appears the RCA tubes and other components are mostly original, some wires have tweed insulation, it looks untouched. I was surprised it still played as well as it did, Leo sure built them to last!

This is my baby now, and I am going to invest some time and money into fixing this amp up right. Cleaning the ground fault switch and playing with the speaker wires got rid of that nagging buzz it always had. I am drawing up a game plan, and I need some guidance and input, a little collective wisdom.

My direction will be either a faithful vintage restoration, retaining as many original components as possible, only replacing caps that need it...or to bring this amp up to the next level, souping up the tubes, replacing all the caps regardless of condition, installing a custom 12" speaker baffle, and converting the power cord to a grounded 3-prong.