1978 Hamer Standard #0110

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Floyd2112, Feb 11, 2008.

1. Floyd2112

Floyd2112 Member

I've owned this Hamer since 1980. Sunburst with a really nice flame top, crown inlays and it is bound. Does anyone know what pickup's they put into these???? I've emailed Hamer directly and they haven't been much help with this topic. When I bought it they had the chrome covers on them. I took them off and they are black bobbins on both. Any help would be appreaciated.

Thanks

2. MikeMcK

MikeMcK Member

Try the Hamer Fan Club forum. There are a couple of guys from there that occasionally post here and know Hamer history better than the founders.

Look for a guy nicknamed "Serial Steve" who posts here as "serial". Hell of a nice guy, and he may shock you with what he can find out about your guitar.

3. Floyd2112

Floyd2112 Member

Thanks a lot for the info. This is my first time posting stuff like this. Appreaciate the help.

Floyd2112

4. Mike_C

Mike_C Member

If Memory serves me correctly they should be DiMarzio's wound to Hamer Specs. Are you the original owner? I ask since they usually only had open bobbin pickups on them and it sounds like they may have been changed or have been a special order.

5. Floyd2112

Floyd2112 Member

from what I can recall I am only the second owner. I got this when I was 15 years old for $600.00 in Middleton WI.( Regenburg Music) It also doesn't have the normal tune-o-matic bridge. The one that is still on it when I bought it is wider style tune -o matic bridge.

6. Mrgearguy

Mrgearguy Member

That's got to be one sweet axe, and worth some cash nowadays too!
    The ultimate authority on this sort of thing can be found at Jol Dantzig's Blog where you will be in touch with the actual Hamer USA shop. They have all the log books and records, not to mention the people who were actually there when your guitar was made.

7. Brian Krashpad

Brian Krashpad Member