1X12 vs 2X12. Does it matter when close-micing??

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by willhutch, Jul 5, 2006.

1. willhutch

willhutch Member

I'm considering taking one speaker out of my 2X12 combo and repackaging it into a smaller cab. As a gigging musician, I want to lighten my load.

I always mic my cabinet at gigs. I position the mic near the edge of one speaker cone angled in to point at the dustcap. The mic is placed at the left side of the right-hand speaker so it is suspended near the center of the cabinet's grill cloth. Furthermore, I place a baffle in front of the speaker to keep sound from bleeding into mics and to keep anyone in the band or in the crowd from being right on axis.

Question: When close mic'ing one of a pair of speakers like this, do the benefits of a multi-speaker cab ever make it out of the house speakers??? It seems unlikely that it would make any appreciable difference in the house. But this belief is based purely on intuition. I have no data or direct experience.

To my ears, dual speakers give more chunkiness to the bass, a slight bump in overall SPL, slightly wider sound dispersion. I'm ready to give up these things in favor of a physically smaller and lighter amp.

So, can a SM57 pick up the diff between a 1X12 and 2X12??

2. Keld

Keld Member

Good question. I've not experimented with it myself, but I would guess that it depends to some degree on how loud you are playing. Mics pic up sound from many directions (not just directly in front of the capsule) so there is bound to be some bleed from the other speaker and the cab itself. If you have the amp cranked though, the primary source of the speaker is likely to drown out most of the cab/other speaker effect.

If that makes any sense...

3. willhutch

willhutch Member

Thanks for the $.02, Keld.

Any other takers? I'm surprised more people haven't jumped in on this. It seems like a fairly crucial question. Maybe no one knows??

Beuhler??

4. Luke

Luke Senior Member