2 knob Strat wiring help

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by kstraine, Jan 26, 2012.

1. kstraine

kstraine Member

I have a two-knob strat that I like a lot because it gets the volume out of the way for palm muting, etc. So I have a master volume and master tone.

I want to add a blender pot but still retain the two-knob setup! I've looked into this a little bit but I'm not sure it's possible. Could I wire a concentric stacked pot (from the J-bass, I guess is what it says) for volume and tone and then wire a no-load pot for blending the neck pickup into whatever I have going? Would there be problems with the stacked J-pot in a strat?

Anyone done it before? Let me know.

2. testing1two

testing1two Gold Supporting Member

The easiest way to accomplish this is to use the concentric pot for volume and tone and then add a blender pot. I don't believe anyone makes a concentric volume/blender pot. You could possibly modify a 250k/250k concentric pot but it would require cracking open the pot and modifying one leg but I've never tried it on a concentric pot.

Just FYI - A blender pot is not exactly the same as a volume/tone pot. It's actually the same as a no-load tone pot but without the detente (the click) at the end. No load means that when the pot is fully on, all resistance is bypassed and there is "no load" on the signal at all. You can modify any pot to be a no-load pot but it's not the easiest thing in the world to do.

Here's a step by step guide using a regular pot: http://acapella.harmony-central.com/showthread.php?2121793-Modding-a-CTS-pot-to-no-load

3. Sensible Musician

Sensible Musician Member

i'm a big fan of planning around the desired outcome. i.e. i don't give any thought to what parts are available or what kind of pickguard is easy to obtain, or how it will look to move the holes for controls in a guitar, etc... i just brainstorm how i want it to sound and play - imagining using it IRL.