2 new members of the family...

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by DK207, Feb 23, 2006.

1. DK207

DK207 Member

One is red and the other orange! They sound incredible. The cables are temp until I get my Area51 kit and some more George L plugs....couldn't wait until then to take the pic! One AM TS9/808 got booted, and the OD-9/silver is in trouble (until I get my bigger board).
    [​IMG]

:JAM

2. gururyan

gururyan Member

I've been wanting to try/buy the Hot Silicon for some time. Be sure to give us a review when you have the time. Nice set up.

3. DK207

DK207 Member

OK, so here's the skinny on the Hot Silicon Fuzz. First off, I am a doctor, not a pedal builder or electrical engineer so take my opinions and descriptions with a grain of salt. I was on call this week and finally got some time to play with the new fuzz. I must say, I love this thing!!!! It is extremenly versatile and can easily cover mild/mellow fuzz to nasty/snarling tones. If you listen to the clips on the Foxrox site, that is pretty much the tone with the fuzz control cranked (which is where I leave it parked). I moved the fuzz after my AM OD-9/silver and before my Zim and found for me, this is the best placement. I can get very Hendrix-ish tones with the FUzz alone (ala Purple Haze etc) but can grab some more sustain and bite by kicking on my OD-9/silver set as clean boost (drive almost all the way down and volume 12:00). The fuzz sounds great with the Comprossor on or off, and I don't notice a huge difference wither way except for the added sustain with the comp.